May 19, 2009

Team of the Week

Louisville Named CBI Team of the Week

After putting together a 4-0 week and winning its first Big East regular-season title, Louisville has been named the Team of the Week.


The Cardinals started the week with a 10-2 victory Tuesday at Sun Belt-leader Western Kentucky. Louisville would host first-place USF for its final conference series, needing a sweep to claim the crown. The Cardinals eked out a 2-1 win on Thursday and swept a Friday doubleheader by the scores of 4-3 and 12-1 to climb to the top of the Big East standings. Louisville improved to 40-14 overall and 19-7 in the Big East.


Honorable mention goes to Wagner, which defeated New York Tech and swept a four-game series from Fairleigh Dickinson to claim its first Northeast Conference regular-season title. Missouri State, last week’s CBI Team of the Week, swept a three-game MVC set from first-place Indiana State to extend its win streak to seven and win the regular-season crown. Oklahoma took three from No. 16 Texas A&M to climb to second in the Big 12 standings. South Carolina took two from USC Upstate before sweeping three from No. 19 Georgia. Army beat Lafayette twice to win the Patriot League championship. Bethune-Cookman won its three tournament games to claim the MEAC title. Ole Miss swept a three-game series from No. 20 Arkansas. UAB took two of three from No. 6 Rice. East Carolina won at UNC Wilmington before taking three from Memphis to win the Conference USA regular-season title. Defending national champion Fresno State swept a four-game set at Sacramento State to ensure a place in the WAC Tournament. UC Irvine bounced back from a loss to San Diego to sweep a three-game series from UC Davis to secure its first Big West championship. Middle Tennessee rebounded from a loss to Tennessee to defeat Western Kentucky twice and win the Sun Belt regular-season crown.


Previous Teams of the Week

May 12 - Missouri State

May 5 - Florida

April 28 - Clemson

April 21 - Texas

April 14 - Kansas

April 7 - Georgia Southern

March 31 - San Diego

March 24 - Duke

March 17 - Cal State Fullerton

March 10 - Illinois

March 3 - Rice

Feb. 24 - Middle Tennessee