2007 Journalists


Erik Bird, Nebraska

Erik Bird is a sophomore reliever for Nebraska who will contribute a journal to CollegeBaseballInsider.com in 2007. Bird, a native of Omaha, Neb., went 0-2 with a 0.82 ERA as a freshman and becomes closer for the Huskers this year. Opponents hit .218 and 2 of 23 inherited runners scored off of him in 2006. His brother Brandon pitched for Creighton, helping the Bluejays to the NCAA tourney in 2005.


Drew Davis, Elon

Drew Davis is a fifth-year senior catcher - and three-year captain - for Elon. Davis, a native of Salisbury, N.C., was injured the opening weekend of the year in 2006 and missed the remainder of the season. Prior to his injury, Davis hit .327 with three homers and 44 RBI in 2005 and .351 with six homers and 51 RBI in 2004. He spent last summer with the Bourne Braves in the Cape Cod Summer League.


Jeremy Farrell, Virginia

Jeremy Farrell is a sophomore infielder for Virginia who will contribute a journal to CollegeBaseballInsider.com in 2007. Farrell, a native of Monmouth, N.J., who grew up in Westlake, Ohio, was named a Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American after batting .324 with two homers and 32 RBI. He started 45 of the 48 games he played in 2006, primarily at third base.


Dan Spencer, Oregon State

Dan Spencer is entering his 11th season as an assistant at Oregon State. The associate head coach and pitching coach of the Beavers, Spencer has been instrumental in helping the Beavers to back-to-back College World Series appearances and the 2006 National Championship. He joins CollegeBaseballInsider.com for the 2007 season.



Brad Winter, Kent State

Brad Winter is a sophomore first baseman for Kent State who will contribute a weekly journal to CollegeBaseballInsider.com in 2007. Winter, a native of Bellefontaine, Ohio, started 37 games as a freshman, homering twice and driving in 29 runs. In 250 chances at first base, Winter made only one error.



2010 Journals: Kyle Livingstone, Texas State; Cory Luckie, Auburn; DJ Mauldin, Cal Poly; Kevin McKague, Army

2009 Journals: Pat Colwell, San Diego State; Michael Earley, Indiana; Ruairi O'Connor, Florida State; Keith Shinaberry, Texas; Dan Spencer, Texas Tech

2008 Journals: Matt Carpenter, TCU; Kevin Cooney, Florida Atlantic; Jerrod Farley, Norfolk State; Logan Gelbrich, San Diego; Zach Miller, Ole Miss; Ty Pryor, Ole Miss

2006 Journals: Kevin Coker, Southern Miss; Kevin Cooney, Florida Atlantic; Greg Lopez, Notre Dame; Brandon McArthur, Florida; Jon Mueller, Albany; Joe Persichina, Arizona State

2005 Journals: Kevin Cooney, Florida Atlantic; Ryan LaMotta, Baylor; Jon Mueller, Albany; Mike Trapani, Georgia Tech

2004 Journals: Kyle Brown, Le Moyne; Kevin Cooney, Florida Atlantic; P.J. Pilittere, Cal State Fullerton; Jeremy Sowers, Vanderbilt

2003 Journals: Steve Englert, Boston College; Ryan Johnson, Wake Forest