Feb. 12, 2013

Inside: With Indiana's Sam Travis

CBI Big Ten preview


Indiana is top team in Big Ten Preseason Poll


Indiana is the favorite in the Big Ten Conference Preseason Coaches’ Poll, in voting by the league’s head coaches as released by the conference office.


The coaches voted on the top six team and selected three players from their own teams for a Players to Watch list.


The Hoosiers, under head coach Tracy Smith (pictured), reached the Big Ten Tournament title game in 2012 and return 20. Second-place Nebraska also brings back 20 lettermen. 2012 regular-season and tournament champion Purdue was not voted into the top six.


The 2013 campaign begins on Friday, Feb. 15, with all 11 teams in action. Conference play kicks off the weekend of March 15-17, headlined by Nebraska at Illinois. The Big Ten Tournament will be held at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn. The six-team double elimination tournament will be played May 22-25.


2013 Big Ten Preseason Poll


Team (2012 Big Ten, Overall Records)

1. Indiana (16-8, 32-28)

2. Nebraska (14-10, 35-23)

3. Michigan State (13-11, 37-23)

4. Ohio State (11-13, 33-27)

5. Minnesota (11-13, 29-27)

6. Illinois (11-13, 28-25)


2013 Big Ten Players to Watch

Kevin Johnson, Sr., SP, Illinois
Jordan Parr, Jr., OF, Illinois
Justin Parr, Sr., OF, Illinois
Joey DeNato, Jr., SP, Indiana
Kyle Schwarber, So., C/OF/DH, Indiana
Sam Travis, So., 1B/OF, Indiana
Sasha Kuebel, So., SP, Iowa
Dan Sheppard, Sr., C, Iowa
Jake Yacinich, So., SS, Iowa
Ben Ballantine, Sr., SP, Michigan
Patrick Biondi, Sr., OF, Michigan
Michael O’Neill, Jr., OF, Michigan
Jordan Keur, Sr., LF, Michigan State
David Garner, Jr., SP, Michigan State
Andrew Waszak, Sr., SP, Michigan State
Andy Henkemeyer, Sr., OF, Minnesota
Dan Olinger, Jr., 1B, Minnesota
Tom Windle, Jr., SP, Minnesota
Brandon Pierce, Jr., SP, Nebraska
Michael Pritchard, Jr., OF/DH, Nebraska
Dylan Vogt, Sr., RP, Nebraska
Luke Farrell, Sr., SP, Northwestern
Zach Morton, Sr., SP/UT, Northwestern
Trevor Stevens, Sr., SS, Northwestern
Josh Dezse, Jr., 1B/DH/RP, Ohio State
Brad Goldberg, Sr., SP, Ohio State
Jaron Long, Jr., SP, Ohio State
Steve Hill, Sr., SP, Penn State
Steve Snyder, Jr., CF, Penn State
David Walkling, Sr., SP, Penn State
Sean McHugh, Jr., 3B/C, Purdue
Brad Schreiber, Jr., SP, Purdue
Kyle Wood, Fr., SP/OF/1B, Purdue

(photo courtesy of IU Media Relations)