Jan. 25, 2011

click here for CBI Conference Previews

click here for feature on Bret Atwood of Texas State

click here for CBI Southland preview

click here for coaches' Southland preseason poll


Smith headlines preseason all-Southland team


Junior right-hander Carson Smith of Texas State, the 2010 Southland Conference Pitcher and Newcomer of the Year, tops the talented list of 20 returning all-conference performers on the 2011 preseason all-conference team, as released by the league office.


A preseason All-American, Smith tied for the conference lead with 10 victories a season ago and was second in opponent batting average (.241). Smith posted an ERA of 3.10 and struck out 94 in 104.2 innings.


Smith had three teammates join him on the preseason all-Southland squad, as junior third baseman Kyle Kubitza and senior outfielder Bret Atwood were named first team and junior DH Jeff McVaney earned second-team honors.


Lamar, McNeese State, Southeastern Louisiana and Stephen F. Austin each had three players on the preseason all-Southland team, while Sam Houston State and Northwestern State both had two. Nicholls, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi and UT Arlington each had one player honored.


Returning players who were named first and second team all-conference following the 2010 campaign automatically receive 2011 preseason honors. Third-team postseason selections move into vacated spots on the first and second preseason teams. The remaining positions are voted on by the league’s head coaches.


The 2011 season begins on Friday, Feb. 18. The first weekend of conference competition is March 4-6, as Texas State visits Texas A&M-Corpus Christi for a three-game series. All 12 teams will have conference sets the following weekend. The 2011 Southland Conference Tournament will be hosted by Texas State on May 25-28 at the Bobcat Baseball Stadium in San Marcos, Texas.


2011 Southland Preseason All-Conference Team

Pos. Name, School, Class

First Team
1B *Trey Hernandez, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Sr.
2B *Braeden Riley, Sam Houston State, Sr.
3B *Kyle Kubitza, Texas State, Jr.
SS *Jace Peterson, McNeese State, Jr.
OF *Bret Atwood, Texas State, Sr.
OF *Bear Comer, Nicholls, Sr.
OF *Jeff Harkensee, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.
C *Aaron Munoz, Northwestern State, Sr.
DH *Chris Andreas, Sam Houston State, Sr.
P *Carson Smith, Texas State, Jr.
P *Luke Irvine, Northwestern State, Sr.
P *Tyler Herriage, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

Second Team
1B *Darren Crabtree, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.
2B *Andy Mena, Lamar, Sr.
3B Ryan Dalton, UTSA, So.
SS *Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.
OF *Garrett Smith, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.
OF *Lee Orr, McNeese State, Jr.
OF *Cass Hargis, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.
C *Chad Comer, UT Arlington, Sr.
DH *Jeff McVaney, Texas State, Jr.
P Jonathan Dziedzic, Lamar, So.
P Eric Harrington, Lamar, Jr.
P Jaden Dillon, McNeese State, Jr.

*Returning all-conference selection