Feb. 11, 2011

click here for CBI Conference Previews

click here for CBI MWC preview

click here for coaches' MWC preseason poll


TCU places six on preseason All-MWC team


TCU, five-time defending champion in the Mountain West Conference, had six players selected to the preseason all-conference team in voting by the league head coaches and a selected media panel as released by the conference office.


The honored Horned Frogs were seniors Jerome Pena (2B) and Steven Maxwell (P), juniors Taylor Featherson (SS), Jason Coats (OF) and Brance Rivera (OF), and sophomore Matt Purke (P) (pictured right).


BYU placed a pair on the squad, senior utility player Ryan Bernal and junior catcher Alex Wolfe.

The 2011 campaign begins on Friday, Feb. 18. The MWC Tournament will be held May 24-28 at Tony Gwynn Stadium in San Diego, Calif., the home field of San Diego State.


Mountain West Preseason All-Conference Team
Pos. Name, School, Class

C Alex Wolfe, BYU, Jr.

1B C.J. Cron, Utah, Jr.

2B Jerome Pena, TCU, Sr.

3B Jantzen Witte, TCU, So.

SS Taylor Featherston, TCU, Jr.

OF Brandon Meredith, San Diego State, Jr.

OF Jason Coats, TCU, Jr.

OF Brandon Bayardi, UNLV, So.

P Steven Maxwell, TCU, Sr.

P Matt Purke, TCU, So.

UT/DH Ryan Bernal, BYU, Sr.


(photo courtesy of TCU Media Relations Office)