Feb. 9, 2011

click here for CBI Conference Previews

click here for CBI Horizon preview


Wright State is pick of coaches in tight Horizon League


Wright State edged defending champion Milwaukee at the top of the 2011 Horizon League preseason poll, in voting by the league head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Raiders, the 2010 regular-season champs, received three first-place votes, as did the Panthers. Wright State had 32 points, one more than Milwaukee.


UIC earned the final first-place vote and came in third with 27 points, followed by Valparaiso, Butler, Youngstown State and Cleveland State.


Wright State returns three junior all-conference performers in pitcher Casey Henn (pictured right), infielder Jake Hibberd and catcher Garrett Gray. Skipper Rob Cooper was the 2010 Horizon League Coach of the Year.


Milwaukee also brings back three all-league players in senior infielder Cole Kraft, senior DH Sam Sivilotti and junior utility player Paul Hoenecke.


The 2011 campaign kicks off on Friday, Feb. 18. The 2011 Horizon League Championship will be held May 25-28 at Nischwitz Stadium in Dayton, Ohio. The six-team double-elimination event will be hosted by Wright State.

Horizon Preseason Poll

Team, Points (First place) (2010 Horizon, Overall Records)

1. Wright State, 32 (3) (17-6, 31-25)
2. Milwaukee, 31 (3) (17-8, 33-26)
3. UIC, 27 (1) (15-9, 24-30)
4. Valparaiso, 24 (9-10, 24-32)
5. Butler, 13 (11-13, 21-29)
5. Youngstown State, 13 (9-17, 22-34)
7. Cleveland State, 7 (5-20, 12-43)

(photo courtesy of Wright State Media Relations Office)