Feb. 15, 2011

click here for CBI Conference Previews

click here for CBI feature on John Anderson of Minnesota

click here for CBI Big Ten preview


Minnesota is top team in Big Ten preseason poll


After capturing both the regular-season and tournament crowns a season ago, Minnesota is favored to repeat in the Big Ten, in voting by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Big Ten released a preseason poll for the first time in conference history and also a Players to Watch list, consisting of three players from each team.


The Golden Gophers return 24 players from last season, including three on the Players to Watch list: senior relief pitcher Scott Matyas (pictured above) and sophomores TJ Oakes (starting pitcher) and Justin Gominsky (outfielder). Head coach John Anderson was the 2010 Big Ten Coach of the Year.


Michigan was voted second, followed by Indiana, Michigan State, Iowa and Ohio State. Illinois, Northwestern, Penn State and Purdue did not finish in the top six.


The 2011 season starts on Friday, Feb. 18, with eight schools participating in the third annual Big East/Big Ten Challenge in Florida. Conference play begins on March 25, with a series between Michigan and Michigan State. The 2011 Big Ten Championship will be held May 25-28 at Huntington Park in Columbus, Ohio.


Big Ten Preseason Poll (2010 Big Ten, overall records)

1. Minnesota (15-9, 32-30)
2. Michigan (14-10, 35-22)
3. Indiana (12-12, 28-27)
4. Michigan State (11-13, 34-19)
5. Iowa (13-11, 30-28)
6. Ohio State (11-13, 28-23)

Big Ten Players to Watch
Willie Argo, Jr., CF, Illinois
Adam Davis, Jr., C, Illinois
Kevin Johnson, So., SP, Illinois
Joey DeNato, Fr., SP, Indiana
Alex Dickerson, Jr., OF, Indiana
Jerrud Sabourin, Sr., 1B, Indiana
Jarred Hippen, Jr., SP, Iowa
Kevin Lee, Sr., RP, Iowa
Zach McCool, Sr., 3B, Iowa
Patrick Biondi, So., OF, Michigan
Bobby Brosnahan, So., SP, Michigan
Derek Dennis, So., SS, Michigan
Torsten Boss, So., 3B, Michigan State
Jeff Holm, Sr., 1B, Michigan State
Ryan Jones, So., 2B, Michigan State
Justin Gominsky, So., OF, Minnesota
Scott Matyas, Sr., RP, Minnesota
TJ Oakes, So., SP, Minnesota
Chris Lashmet, Sr., 3B, Northwestern
Paul Snieder, Jr., RP/DH, Northwestern
Trevor Stevens, Jr., IF/OF, Northwestern
Brian DeLucia, Sr., OF, Ohio State
Josh Dezse, Fr., 1B/RP, Ohio State
Drew Rucinski, Sr., SP, Ohio State
Joe DeBernardis, Jr., 1B, Penn State
Heath Johnson, Sr., SP, Penn State
Jordan Steranka, Jr., 3B, Penn State
Cameron Perkins, So., 3B, Purdue
Kevin Plawecki, So., C, Purdue
Brad Schreiber, So., SP/DH, Purdue


(photo courtesy of Minnesota Media Relations Office)