Feb. 2, 2010

click here for CBI WAC preview

click here for coaches' preseason All-WAC team


Fresno State favored to win WAC championship


Fresno State has been picked to win the 2010 title in the Western Athletic Conference, in voting by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Bulldogs received five first-place votes and 32 points. Fresno State has won the WAC Tournament each of the past four seasons.


New Mexico State got one first-place vote and 27 points for second, one point ahead of Hawaii. Louisiana Tech came in fourth with 22 points. San Jose State, last year’s regular-season champion, garnered one first-place vote and 19 points for fifth, followed by Nevada and Sacramento State.


The 48th year of WAC baseball begins on Friday, Feb. 19, with all seven teams in action. The WAC Tournament will be held May 26-29/30 at Hohokam Stadium in Mesa, Ariz. The top six teams advance to the tournament.


2010 Predicted Order of Finish

(2009 WAC/overall records, points, first-place votes)


1 Fresno State (12-12, 32-30) 32 (5)

2 New Mexico State (12-12, 44-17) 27 (1)

3 Hawaii (11-12, 32-26) 26

4 Louisiana Tech (13-11, 29-22) 22

5 San Jose State (15-7, 41-20) 19 (1)

6 Nevada (10-13, 25-31) 15

7 Sacramento State (8-14, 27-27) 6