Oct. 14, 2012


40 Former Division I Players on LCS Rosters 


There are 40 former Division I players among the 100 major leaguers listed on League Championship Series rosters, including former Ole Miss hurler Lance Lynn (right) of the St. Louis Cardinals. That is an increase of two over last year's total of 38 and 10 more than the 30 in 2010.


The St. Louis Cardinals lead the way with 12 former Division I players on their 25-man LCS roster. The San Francisco Giants have 11, followed by the Detroit Tigers with nine and the New York Yankees with eight.


There are 35 Division I schools which have at least one alum in the postseason. There are five schools with two players: Alabama (Alex Avila of Detroit and David Robertson of New York), California (Allen Craig of St. Louis and Xavier Nady of San Francisco), Florida State (Buster Posey of San Francisco and Shane Robinson of St. Louis), Miami (Fla.) (Aubrey Huff of San Francisco and Jon Jay of St. Louis) and UC Riverside (Joe Kelly and Marc Rzepczynski of St. Louis). Miami is the only school with multiple players in each of the past three League Championship Series.


There are links to lists divided by school and by Major League teams.


Division I Players on League Championship Series Rosters


League Championship Players by School


Links for Division Series lists by school and by Major League teams.


Division I Players on Division Series Rosters


Division Series Players by School

(photo courtesy of Ole Miss Media Relations Office)