Oct. 9, 2011


38 Former Division I Players on LCS Rosters 


There are 38 former Division I players among the 100 major leaguers listed on League Championship Series rosters. That is an increase of eight from last year's total of 30.


The Milwaukee Brewers lead the way with 12 former Division I players on their 25-man LCS roster. The Detroit Tigers and the St. Louis Cardinals both have 10, followed by the Texas Rangers with six.


The Rangers are the only repeat team from the 2010 LCS, as the New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies and San Francisco Giants also competed in the LCS a season ago.


There are 33 Division I schools which have at least one alum in the postseason. There are four schools with two players: Arizona (Ryan Perry and Daniel Schlereth of Detroit), Fresno State (Doug Fister of Detroit and Casey McGehee of Milwaukee), Miami (Fla.) (Ryan Braun of Milwaukee and Jon Jay of St. Louis), Missouri (Ian Kinsler of Texas and Max Scherzer of Detroit) and Pepperdine (Randy Wolf of Milwaukee and Danny Worth of Milwaukee). Miami is the only school with multiple players in each of the past two League Championship Series.


There are links to lists divided by school and by Major League teams.


Division I Players on League Championship Series Rosters


League Championship Players by School


Links for first-round lists by school and by Major League teams.


Division I Players on Postseason Rosters


Postseason Players by School