Oct. 1, 2011


78 Former Division I Players on Postseason Rosters 


There are 78 former Division I players among the 200 major leaguers listed on postseason rosters. This is an increase from 60 a year ago.


The National League teams each have more than any of the American League squads. The Arizona Diamondbacks lead the way with 17 former Division I players among the 25 on their postseason roster. The Milwaukee Brewers are second with 12, followed by the Philadelphia Phillies with 11, the St. Louis Cardinals with 10, the Detroit Tigers with nine, the Tampa Bay Rays with seven, and the New York Yankees and Texas Rangers with six each.


There are 53 Division I schools which have at least one alum in the postseason. Long Beach State leads with four: Marco Estrada of Milwaukee, Evan Longoria of Tampa Bay, Bryan Shaw of Arizona and Vance Worley of Philadelphia. Missouri State is next with three: Ryan Howard of Philadelphia, Shaun Marcum of Milwaukee and Brad Ziegler of Arizona. There are 20 schools with two players: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Baylor, California, Fresno State, Kentucky, LSU, Miami (Fla.), Missouri, Nevada, Notre Dame, Old Dominion, Oregon State, South Florida, Stanford, Tulane, UC Santa Barbara, UCLA and UT Arlington.


There are links to lists divided by school and by Major League teams.


Division I Players on Postseason Rosters


Postseason Players by School