Feb. 28, 2013

Lineup Card


Lineup Card is a feature highlighting notes from around college baseball.


Feb. 1-28, 2013


Cincinnati will face Louisville in the inaugural Reds Collegiate Invitational as part of a doubleheader on Saturday, April 6, at Great American Ball Park. The Cincinnati Reds will face the Washington Nationals at 1:10 p.m. in the opener, with the Bearcats and Cardinals meeting 30 minutes after the conclusion of the first contest. It will be the first NCAA contest played in the 11-year history of GABP.


Kansas has named senior infielders Alex DeLeon, Jordan Dreiling and Kevin Kuntz as captains for the 2013 season. Each will be a captain for the first time. DeLeon batted .261 in 43 games in 2012 with seven doubles, four homers and 23 RBI. He will play first and serve as a backup catcher. Dreiling hit .301 a season ago with five doubles, three triples and 29 runs. He will start at third base. Kuntz will continue to start at shortstop after posting a fielding percentage of .962 in 58 games in 2012. He batted .251 a year ago with three doubles, two triples and 10 steals.


Former Massachusetts All-American Doug Clark homered in the 18th inning on Feb. 7 to carry Mexico’s Yaquis de Obregon to the Caribbean Series title. Clark is in his third season in the Mexican League and 15th in professional baseball. He played for the Minutemen from 1996-98.


UC Santa Barbara will broadcast 30 games on KZSB AM 1290 and another 17 online Gerry Fall will call the play-by-play.


Nick Derba has returned to Manhattan as a volunteer assistant coach after a six-year professional career. He played for the Jaspers from 2004-07 and was First Team All-MAAC three times. Derba earned a Bachelor of Science degree in biology with minors in chemistry and psychology.


LSU recently held a ribbon-cutting ceremony for the Wally Pontiff Jr. Baseball Hall of Fame in Alex Box Stadium. Located on the third-base side of the stadium, the Hall of Fame will open to the general public on Feb. 15 prior to the season opener against Maryland.


The Georgia Southern preview show will air live on the Boomer 103.7 FM on Feb. 10 at 7 p.m. from Locos Grill & Pub.


The Dugout Club of Fresno State held its 26th annual Double Play dinner on Feb. 8 and inducted three onto the Dugout Club Wall of Fame: current Detroit Tiger pitcher Doug Fister, local supporter Jim Pardini and current head coach Mike Batesole.


College of Charleston will broadcast nearly every game either online or on ESPN 910 AM, which will carry at least 15 regular season contests. Jeff McCarragher will anchor the majority of the broadcasts.


New Mexico will have more than 30 games broadcast on ESPN Radio 101.7 The Team. Robert Portnoy will handle the play-by-play.


Anthony Babineaux has been promoted to associate head coach at Louisiana-Lafayette. He has been on the coaching staff at his alma mater since 1995, the first year for head coach Tony Robichaux. Babineaux works with the infielders, helps the hitters, assists in recruiting and coordinates travel and scheduling. He has been head assistant coach and third base coach for the past four seasons.


Northwestern will face Michigan at Wrigley Field on April 20 as part of a deal between the Wildcats and the Chicago Cubs that includes lacrosse and five football games in the venue as well.


Cal State Fullerton will hold its Alumni Game on Feb. 9 at 1 p.m. at Goodwin Field. Former Titans expected to return include Gary Brown, Chad Cordero, Blake Davis, Jake Floethe, Mark Kotsay, Jose Mota, Vinny Pestano, Brett Pill, Wes Roemer and Justin Turner.


TCU will have its Alumni Game on Feb. 9 at 1 p.m. at Lupton Stadium with free admission. The six draftees from 2012 are expected to return: Jason Coats, Josh Elander, Zac Jordan, Kevin Allen, Kaleb Merck and Kyle Von Tungeln. Other professional players who will return include Chad Huffman, Taylor Featherston, Matt Curry, Greg Holle, Kyle Winkler, Jerome Pena and Erik Miller.


Florida State will host Fan Day on Feb. 9. Autographs will begin at 11 a.m. inside Haggard Plaza. A team scrimmage will be held at 1:30 p.m.