Jan. 30, 2013

click here for Southland preseason polls


SHSU places four on Preseason All-Southland Teams


Preseason favorite Sam Houston State led the way with four players on the Preseason All-Southland Conference Team, as released by the conference office.


The Bearkats had three on the first team: senior third baseman Kevin Miller, junior DH Anthony Azar and junior pitcher Caleb Smith. SHSU sophomore outfielder Colt Atwood was named to the second team.


Miller and Azar were first-team selections following the 2012 campaign, as was junior shortstop Hunter Dozier of Stephen F. Austin.


Returning players who received first and second-team All-Southland honors a season ago automatically earned preseason recognition. Third-team picks moved into vacated positions on the first and second preseason teams. The remaining positions were voted on by the conference’s head coaches.


The 2013 campaign begins on Friday, Feb. 15, with all eight teams in action. Conference play kicks off the weekend of March 22-24. The Southland Championship will be held at Constellation Field in Sugar Land, Texas. The eight-team double elimination tournament will be held from May 22-25.


2013 Preseason All-Southland Teams


First Team

Pos. Name School Class

1B Brad Picha Lamar Sr.

2B Philip Lyons* Nicholls Jr.

3B Kevin Miller* Sam Houston State Sr.

SS Hunter Dozier* Stephen F. Austin Jr.

C Jose Trevino Oral Roberts So.

OF Forrestt Allday* Central Arkansas Sr.

OF Jonathan Davis* Central Arkansas Jr.

OF Will Watson* Northwestern State Sr.

DH  Anthony Azar* Sam Houston State Jr.

P Caleb Smith* Sam Houston State Jr.

P Dylan Hills Southeastern Louisiana Jr.

P Drew Bowen Oral Roberts Sr.


Second Team

Pos. Name School Class

1B Max Lamantia Stephen F. Austin  So.

2B Freddy Villalobos* Stephen F. Austin Sr.

3B Darian Johnson* Lamar Sr.

SS Ben Hernandez Southeastern Louisiana Sr.

C Nick Purdy Northwestern State Sr.

OF Ethan Harris Central Arkansas Sr.

OF Colt Atwood Sam Houston State So.

OF Logan Domenico Oral Roberts So.

DH  Jonathan Gonzales* Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Sr.

P Jordan Hymel Southeastern Louisiana Sr.

P Alex Gonzalez Oral Roberts Jr.

P Cameron Gann Stephen F. Austin So.


*Returning all-conference selection;