Dec. 21, 2012

2013 SEC Tournament bracket


SEC to change format for 2013 tournament


The Southeastern Conference has expanded the field and changed the format for its tournament, beginning in 2013.


The event will increase from 10 to 12 teams and will begin on Tuesday, May 21, at the Hoover Metropolitan Stadium in Hoover, Ala. Seeds 5-12 will play single-elimination games on the first day, followed by double elimination of Wednesday through Friday. The semifinals will be single-elimination contests on Saturday before the championship game on Sunday.


The division winners will receive the top two spots, with 10 at-large bids going to seeds 3-12 based on conference winning percentage.


The 2012 tourney drew 129,112 fans, an event record. The 2013 tournament will be held in Hoover for the 16th straight year.