2013 Tallahassee Super Regional

(capsules compiled by Sean Ryan, Phil Stanton, Zachary Kerr)


7. Florida State Seminoles

Tallahassee, Florida
At-large bid from ACC, won Tallahassee Regional
2013 record: 20-10, 47-14 (first in Atlantic Division)
Head Coach: Mike Martin (Florida State, 1966)
Record at School: 1,770-608-4, 34 years
Overall Record: 1,770-608-4, 34 years
Assistant Coaches: Mike Bell, Mike Martin Jr., Chris Cates
Team offense: .287 BA, 420 R, 34 HR, 43-70 SB
Team pitching: 2.73 ERA, 550.2 IP, 497 H, 181 BB, 486 K
Top hitters: DJ Stewart (.363/5/56/8-12 SB), Jose Brizuela (.325/4/43/7-9 SB), Marcus Davis (.300/9/61/20 2B), Stephen McGee (.292/9/51/55 BB)
Top pitchers: Scott Sitz (10-1, 1.59 ERA, 90.1 IP, 86 H, 20 BB, 75 K), Luke Weaver (7-2, 1.95 ERA, 92.1 IP, 71 H, 17 BB, 114 K), Robby Coles (4-2, 1.56 ERA, 9 SV, 34.2 IP, 26 H, 15 BB, 35 K), Brandon Leibrandt (10-4, 3.44 ERA, 89 IP, 89 H, 30 BB, 77 K, CG)
Last NCAA appearance: 2012 (3-0 at Tallahassee Regional, 2-0 at Tallahassee Super Regional, 2-2 at College World Series)
Notes: This is the sixth straight super regional for Florida State, which has made 13 overall. The team won three of its five straight super regionals (2008, 2010, and 2012) to advance to the College World Series. The Seminoles have never lost to Indiana, their Tallahassee Super Regional opponent. The Seminoles swept the Hoosiers at Tallahassee in both three-game series the schools have played against one another; the more recent sweep was a shutout sandwich March 9-11, 2007. Florida State throttled its competition in the Tallahassee Regional, winning convincingly against four-seed Savannah State (10-0), three-seed Troy (11-0), and Troy again (11-4). The Seminoles' 28-run differential and 32 runs led the tournament in regional play, and the staff's 1.33 ERA was also among the best. The Seminoles' only losses in their College World Series run last year were against eventual champion Arizona. Brandon Leibrandt is the son of Charlie Leibrandt, former pitcher for the Cincinnati Reds, Kansas City Royals, Atlanta Braves, and Texas Rangers. The Seminoles have had at least 40 wins and have played in the NCAA tournament for 36 straight years, spanning Mike Martin's entire head coaching tenure, but have not yet won a national championship. Their streak of tournament appearances is the second-longest in the country--fellow ACC team Miami has 41. The team lost its first two games in ACC Championship pool play by one run and its last by a walk-off home run in the 12th inning. D.J. Stewart enters the regional with his team's season-high hit streak of 14 games, including multiple-hit games in all three ACC Championship contests. Stewart leads the team in that category, as well, with 23.


Indiana University

Bloomington, Indiana

Automatic bid – won Big Ten Tournament, won Bloomington Regional

2013 record: 17-7, 46-14 (first in Big Ten)

Head coach: Tracy Smith (Miami, Ohio, 1989)

Record at school: 240-220, 8 years

Overall record: 557-440-1, 17 years

Assistant coaches: Ty Neal, Ben Greenspan, Roger Rodenheaver

Team offense: .305 BA, 407 R, 50 HR, .448 SLG%, .389 OBP, 66-110 SB

Team pitching: 2.56 ERA, 545 IP, 502 H, 165 BB, 366 K

Top hitters: Dustin DeMuth (.396/5/40/22 2B, 11-16 SB), Kyle Schwarber (.372/17/50/10 2B), Scott Donley (.357/4/56/15 2B), Sam Travis (.317/9/51/20 2B), Michael Basil (.310/3/46/13 2B)

Top pitchers: Will Coursen-Carr (4-0, 1.80, 55 IP, 47 H, 21 BB, 30 K), Aaron Slegers (9-1, 1.94, 92.2 IP, 92 H, 13 BB, 53 K), Scott Effross (6-1, 5 SV, 1.97, 59.1 IP, 44 H, 13 BB, 33 K), Ryan Halstead (4-4, 11 SV, 2.06, 39.1 IP, 24 H, 11 BB, 44 K), Joey DeNato (9-2, 2.65, 91.2 IP, 92 H, 36 BB, 78 K)

Last NCAA Appearance: 2009 (0-2 at Louisville Regional)

Notes: The Hoosiers won a regional for the first time and are making their initial trip to a Super Regional. IU hosted a regional for the first time and is in the NCAA tourney for the third time (1996, 2009, 2013). This is IU’s third trip to the Sunshine State this year. The Hoosiers beat Louisville and USF while falling to Connecticut in 15 innings in the modified Big East-Big Ten Challenge in the St. Petersburg area. IU took two of three at Florida the fourth weekend of the season. Indiana was the preseason pick of the league’s coaches to win the Big Ten, and the Hoosiers did just that, claiming the regular-season and conference titles. Indiana won its first Big Ten regular season title since 1949 and first outright championship since 1932. IU set program records with 46 victories and an 18-game win streak. Coach Tracy Smith was IU’s pitching (1995-96) before leading the program at Miami (Ohio) for nine years (two NCAA trips, including a 45-18 season in 2005). He’s a huge fan of American Idol and has blogged for CBI this season. Indiana mixes splendid pitching with a solid lineup. On the mound, IU is sixth in the nation in ERA (2.56) and 27th in WHIP (1.22). Sophomore Aaron Slegers went from throwing seven innings last year to ace this year, leading the Hoosiers in innings (92.2) and posting a 9-1 mark with a 1.94 ERA. He was named Big Ten Pitcher of the Year. Indiana spreads innings around and has seven pitchers with an ERA of less than 3.00. Kyle Schwarber hit eight homers last year as a freshman and is fifth in the country with 17 this year. Dustin DeMuth, whose sister Jenny was a two-time all-Big Ten performer in basketball at IU, is 12th in the country in hitting (.396).