May 26, 2013


NCAA announces 16 regional sites


The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has announced the 16 regional sites for the 2013 NCAA Tournament.


Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)

Blacksburg, Va. (Virginia Tech)

Bloomington, Ind. (Indiana)

Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)

Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia)

Columbia, S.C. (South Carolina)

Corvallis, Ore. (Oregon State)

Eugene, Ore. (Oregon)

Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State Fullerton)

Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA)

Louisville, Ky. (Louisville)

Manhattan, Kan. (Kansas State)

Nashville, Tenn. (Vanderbilt)

Raleigh, N.C. (NC State)

Starkville, Miss. (Mississippi State)

Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)


The 16 host institutions have been selected to the 64-team field. The eight national seeds will come from these 16 schools. The remainder of the field will be announced on Monday, May 27.


All regionals will be held from Friday, May 31, to Monday, June 3.


There are five hosts from the ACC, four from the SEC, three from the Pac-12, and one each from the Big East, Big Ten, Big 12 and Big West.


Florida State is hosting for the 30th time and LSU for the 21st. South Carolina (15), Mississippi State (12) and Cal State Fullerton (11) are the other double-digit hosts.


North Carolina will host for the seventh time, Virginia sixth and UCLA fifth. NC State and Oregon State are hosting for the fourth time, with Louisville and Vanderbilt for the third time. First-time hosts include Indiana, Kansas State and Virginia Tech.


There are seven schools which also hosted in 2012: Florida State, LSU, North Carolina, NC State, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia.


(photo by Ethan Erickson)