May 27, 2012

click here for complete list of scores

Around the Bases
Delgado, Toney pitch Austin Peay to OVC crown

Georgia Tech, St. John's, UAB, Valparaiso, Manhattan win league titles


Around the Tournaments


Ohio Valley

#1 Austin Peay 3, #4 Eastern Illinois 0 (EIU eliminated)

Austin Peay wins OVC title


In Jackson, Tenn., Casey Delgado and Zach Toney combined on the three-hit shutout as Austin Peay won its second straight OVC championship. Delgado (8-4) allowed three hits and two walks in five innings to earn the victory, while Toney retired the final 12 batters with four strikeouts to record his first save. Greg Bachman and Rolando Gautier both had RBI singles in the first for the Govs (38-22). Tyler Childress had a double and a triple with one run for APSU. Caleb Howell, T.J. McManus and David Ciaglia each had a hit for the Panthers (29-29). (photo by Olivia Westover)



#8 Georgia Tech 8, #6 Miami 5

Georgia Tech wins ACC title


In Greensboro, N.C., Zane Evans drove in three runs and threw three scoreless innings as Georgia Tech beat Miami to claim the ACC Championship. The Yellow Jackets (36-24) scored four runs in the top of the first as Kyle Wren and Sam Dove started the game with back-to-back doubles. Jake Davies (2 for 5), Daniel Palka (2 for 5), and Evans (2 for 6) all had RBI singles in the inning. Mott Hyde (2 for 4) homered in the top of the third to help Georgia Tech extend its lead. The Hurricanes (36-21) chipped away at the lead and scored two in the bottom of the third. After the Hurricanes added another run in the fifth, Michael Broad delivered a solo homer in the sixth to make it 6-5. However, in the top of the seventh, Evans singled and drove in Brandon Thomas. Evans also pitched a scoreless seventh, eighth, and ninth inning to pick up his sixth save and secure a Georgia Tech victory.


Big East

#2 St. John’s 7, #4 USF 3

St. John’s wins Big East title


In Clearwater, Fla., St. John’s erased an early 3-1 deficit and scored in each of its three final at-bats to defeat USF and win its seventh Big East Championship. The Red Storm scored twice in the sixth to take a 4-3 advantage and added two in the seventh and one in the eighth. Bret Dennis drove in three, while Sean O’Hare added two hits and two runs for St. John’s. Matt Carasiti (6-5, 6.2 IP, 4 H, 3 R, 2 ER, 1 BB, 4 K) earned the victory, while Kevin Kilpatrick (2.1 IP, 2 BB, 1 K) earned his fifth save.

Luis Llerena went 1 for 4 with one RBI for the Bulls (38-22).


Big 12

#6 Missouri 8, #4 Oklahoma 7

Missouri wins Big 12 title


In Oklahoma City, Blake Brown singled and scored on a double play in the top of the eighth to break a 7-7 tie, leading Missouri past Oklahoma for the Big 12 title. Brown had two hits and two runs, while Ben Turner and Dillon Everett both drove in two for the Tigers (32-26). Garrett Carey had two hits and two RBI for the Sooners (38-22).


Conference USA

#7 UAB 5, #5 Memphis 0

UAB wins C-USA title


In Pearl, Miss., Ryan Nance and Michael Busby combined on a six-hit shutout as UAB blanked Memphis to win the Conference USA championship. Nance (4-3, 6.1 IP, 5 H, 3 BB, 6 K) earned the victory, while Busby (2.2 IP, 1 H, 1 BB, 2 K) picked up his first save. Jeff Schalk went 2 for 4 with a homer and three RBI for the Blazers (32-28). Eli Hynes had two hits and a walk for the Tigers (31-28).



#1 Valparaiso 14, #4 UIC 5 (UIC eliminated)

Valparaiso wins Horizon title


In Chicago, Mark Johnson had three hits and four RBI as Valparaiso pounded UIC to capture the Horizon league crown. The Crusaders (35-23) will make their sixth NCAA appearance and first since 1968. Spencer Mahoney (2 for 4, 3B) and John Loeffler (1 for 5) both drove in three, while Elliott Martin (2 for 4, 3 R, 2 RBI) homered for Valpo. The Crusaders led 6-5 before plating eight in the seventh. Tyler Deetjen (8-2, 3.1 IP, 6 H, 1 R, 1 BB) earned the win in relief. John Coen had two hits and two RBI, while Joe Betcher went 3 for 5 with a triple, two runs and one RBI for the Flames (23-34).


Metro Atlantic

#1 Manhattan 3, #2 Canisius 2 (11) (Canisius eliminated)

Manhattan wins MAAC title


In Troy, N.Y., Kyle Murphy had a RBI single in the top of the 11th as Manhattan edged Canisius to win the MAAC crown. Nick Camastro went 4 for 6 with one RBI for the Jaspers (33-25). After Matt Jordan allowed a hit and two walks to the first three batters, Taylor Sewitt (11-1) pitched the rest of the way, allowing five hits and three walks in 11 innings with five strikeouts. Jimmy Luppens had a two-run single in the first and Ronnie Bernick added two hits for the Golden Griffins (33-27).



#5 Fresno State 4, #2 Sacramento State 3 (13)

Fresno State wins WAC title


In Mesa, Ariz., Jordan Luplow hit a ball to right field that scored Daniel Moultrie from second in the bottom of the 13th to give Fresno State the walk-off win over Sacramento State to claim the 2012 WAC Conference Tournament title. Luplow was named tournament MVP after his game-winning hit against the Hornets (31-28). Both Andrew Ayers and Trevor Paine went 3 for 6 for Sacramento State. JD Salles (2-1) picked up the win after throwing 2.2 innings of shutout baseball for the Bulldogs (30-26). R.J. Davis (1-2) took the loss allowing one run on six walks and four hits  in 5.1 inning of relief. Austin Wynns went 3 for 4 with two RBI for FSU.


Regular Season Championships


Big West

No. 15 Cal State Fullerton 5, Long Beach State 1

Cal State Fullerton wins Big West title


In Long Beach, Calif., J.D. Davis hit a three-run homer in a four-run seventh as Cal State Fullerton defeated Long Beach State to win the Big West title in front of 2,825 fans at Blair Field. Kenny Mathews (6-2) allowed four hits and one unearned run in eight innings with one walk and three strikeouts to earn the victory. Michael Lorenzen pitched a scoreless ninth and drove in two for the Titans (17-7, 35-19). Jonathan Kim doubled and scored in the eighth for the Dirtbags (15-9, 28-27).