Feb. 8, 2012

click here for CBI WAC preview

click here for coaches' WAC preseason poll


Fisher, Jones receive WAC preseason honors


New Mexico State junior catcher Zac Fisher was named Preseason Player of the Year and junior Zack Jones (right) of San Jose State was dubbed Preseason Pitcher of the Year in the Western Athletic Conference in voting by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


Fisher batted .398 a season ago with 68 hits, 35 runs, 16 doubles, eight homers and 56 RBI. Jones registered 10 saves and fanned 53 while posting a 3.98 ERA in 2011.


New Mexico State placed five on the preseason all-WAC team: Fisher, sophomore outfielder Tanner Waite, senior outfielder Bryan Karraker, junior second baseman Parker Hipp and senior reliever Scott Coffman.


Hawaii had four on the team: junior outfielder Breland Almadova, junior shortstop Pi'ikea Kitamura, senior third baseman Collin Bennett and senior hurler Matt Sisto.


The 50th WAC baseball season begins on Friday, Feb. 17 with all seven teams in action. Conference play starts the first week in April, with the key series being Fresno State at Hawaii. The top six teams will advance to the 2012 WAC Tournament, which will be held May 23-27 at Hohokam Stadium in Mesa, Ariz.


WAC Preseason All-Conference Team

OF - Aaron Judge, So., Fresno State
OF - Breland Almadova, Jr., Hawaii
OF - Tanner Waite, So., New Mexico State
OF - Bryan Karraker, Sr., New Mexico State
1B - Clay Cederquist, Jr., Sacramento State
2B - Parker Hipp, Jr., New Mexico State
SS - Pi'ikea Kitamura, Jr., Hawaii
3B - Collin Bennett, Sr., Hawaii
 C - Zac Fisher, Jr., New Mexico State
DH - Zack Jones, Jr., San Jose State
UTI- Mike Aldrete, Jr., San Jose State
SP - Matt Sisto, Sr., Hawaii
SP - Tyler Linehan, So., Fresno State
SP - Tom Jameson, Jr., Nevada
RP - Zack Jones, Jr., San Jose State
RP - Scott Coffman, Sr., New Mexico State

Preseason Player of the Year: Zac Fisher, Jr., C, New Mexico State
Preseason Pitcher of the Year:
Zack Jones, Jr., San Jose State


(photo courtesy of SJSU Media Relations Office)