Feb. 10, 2012


Wright State is first in Horizon preseason poll


Wright State led the way in the Horizon League Preseason Poll, in voting by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Raiders received five first-place votes and the maximum 25 points, as coaches could not vote for their own team. Wright State returns six All-League performers, including reigning Player of the Year Jake Hibberd (right) and Relief Pitcher of the Year Michael Schum. Hibberd led the Horizon with a .407 batting average, nine home runs, 21 doubles and 56 RBI. Schum paced the conference with nine wins and nine saves.


UIC received the remaining first-place vote and totaled 19 points to claim second. Valparaiso was third, followed by Milwaukee, Butler and Youngstown State.


The 2012 season starts on Friday, Feb. 17, with all six teams in action. Conference play begins the weekend of March 16-18. All six squads will advance to the 2012 Horizon League Championship, to be played May 23-26 at Les Miller Field in Chicago.


2012 Horizon League Preseason Coaches Poll


Team, Points (First Place) (2011 Horizon, Overall Records)

1. Wright State, 25 (5) (16-7, 36-17)

2. UIC, 19 (1) (16-7, 28-26)

3. Valparaiso, 16 (14-10, 25-32)

4. Milwaukee, 15 (15-10, 28-28)

5. Butler, 10 (11-14, 23-28)

6. Youngstown State, 5 (7-16, 14-41)


(photo courtesy of Wright State Media Relations Office)