June 25, 2012

CBI Live: Arizona 4, #8 South Carolina 1


CWS Championship Series Game 2

Arizona wins fourth baseball title, 18th title overall

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder



Arizona has won 18 total national championships and four in baseball (1976, 1980, 1986, 2012). The Wildcats have won national crowns in softball (8), men’s basketball (1), men’s golf (1), women’s golf (2), men’s swimming and diving (1) and women’s swimming and diving (1).


Andy Lopez has joined Augie Garrido as the only head coaches to win national titles with two different schools. Lopez also won with Pepperdine in 1992, while Garrido captured crowns with Cal State Fullerton (1979, 1984, 1995) and Texas (2002, 2005).


Arizona never trailed in its five CWS games, becoming the third team to never trail in a College World Series. The Wildcats joined Texas of 1949 (three games) and LSU in 1991 (four games).


The Pac-12 how has 16 CWS titles, the most for any conference, and the first for the league since Oregon State won in 2007.


Arizona finished the season by winning its final 11 games and 18 of the past 20 contests.


During its five CWS games, the Arizona pitching staff posted a team ERA of 1.13 (eight runs in 48 innings).


General Martin Dempsey, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, was recognized prior to the game.


Arizona got an unusual 3-4-1 putout to end the bottom of the third. Evan Marzilli hit a grounder to the right side. First baseman Joseph Maggi dove to his right and the ball deflected off his glove to second baseman Trent Gilbert, who threw to pitcher James Farris covering first for the out.


Matt Price tied a CWS career record with 13 appearances.


Michael Roth owns three CWS career marks: 60.1 IP, eight starts, seven hit batsmen.


Christian Walker tied a pair of CWS career record. Walker and Dustin Ackley of North Carolina both have 28 hits. Walker matched Garrett Gore and Chad Flack of UNC with 73 at-bats.


2012 College World Series All-Tournament Team

C  Riley Moore, Arizona

1B  Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B  Devon Travis, Florida State

3B Sherman Johnson, Florida State

SS Alex Mejia, Arizona

OF Evan Marzilli, South Carolina

OF Joey Rickard, Arizona

OF Robert Refsnyder, Arizona

DH Bobby Brown, Arizona

P Michael Roth, South Carolina

P Konner Wade, Arizona


Most Outstanding Player: Robert Refsnyder, Arizona