June 21, 2012

CBI Live: Arizona 10, #3 Florida State 3

CWS Game 11 Notes

Arizona looking for fourth national title

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder



Arizona has reached the CWS championship series and is looking for its third national title. The Wildcats also won crowns in 1976, 1980 and 1986. Arizona finished second in 1956, 1959 and 1963.


The Wildcats are 8-0 in the 2012 NCAA Tournament, the only remaining unbeaten team in the tourney.


Andy Lopez could join Augie Garrido (Cal State Fullerton & Texas) as the only coaches to win CWS titles at two different schools. Lopez led Pepperdine to the national championship in 1992.


Arizona is 8-5 all-time against Florida State. The Wildcats have won six of seven meetings in the College World Series.


Kurt Heyer of the Wildcats earned his 13th win, the top mark in the nation. He also leads the country with 153 innings.


Johnny Field of Arizona had a two-out single in the eighth to extend his hit streak to 14 games. He has reached base in 27 straight contests.


Robert Refsnyder drew a first-inning walk for Arizona to extend his current on-base streak to 37 games.


The Wildcats stranded 15 in their win over Florida State.


Florida State has 21 CWS appearances, the most by a team which has not won a national championship. The ACC has still won just on national title, Wake Forest in 1955.


Florida State used eight pitchers against Arizona, tying a CWS record. The other two teams are North Carolina (vs. Rice, June 17, 2007) and Arkansas (vs. LSU, June 19, 2009).


The Seminoles had three assists against the Wildcats, tying the CWS record for least assists in a game. It was done nine before, last by Clemson against Oklahoma on June 22, 2010.


Sherman Johnson walked twice, raising his season total to 69. He is tied for the national lead with Tanner Waite of New Mexico State.