May 27, 2012


NCAA announces 16 regional sites


The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has announced the 16 regional sites for the 2012 NCAA Tournament.


Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)

Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)

Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia)

College Station, Texas (Texas A&M)

Columbia, S.C. (South Carolina)

Coral Gables, Fla. (Miami)

Eugene, Ore. (Oregon)

Gainesville, Fla. (Florida)

Gary, Ind. (Purdue)

Houston, Texas (Rice)

Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA)

Raleigh, N.C. (NC State)

Stanford, Calif. (Stanford)

Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)

Tucson, Ariz. (Arizona)

Waco, Texas (Baylor)


The 16 host institutions have been selected to the 64-team field. The eight national seeds will come from these 16 schools. The remainder of the field will be announced on Monday, May 28.


All regionals will be held from Friday, June 1, to Monday, June 4.


There are five hosts from the ACC, four from the Pac-12, three from the SEC, two from the Big 12, and one each from the Big Ten and, Conference USA.


Florida State will host for the 29th time, while Miami hosts for the 24th time and  LSU hosts for the 20th time. Stanford (15) South Carolina (14), Florida (11) and Rice (10) have also hosted for at least 10 times.


Texas A&M will host for the ninth time, followed by North Carolina (7), Virginia (6), Arizona (5), Baylor (4), UCLA (4) and NC State (3). Purdue and Oregon will host for the first time.


(photo courtesy of UCLA Media Relations Office)