July 21, 2011

2012 Conference Membership


Changes in Conference Affiliations for 2012


When the new academic year started on July 1, several teams found themselves with new conference homes.


The top move involved Nebraska, as the Cornhuskers moved from the Big 12 to the Big Ten. The Big Red will be a big factor in the Big Ten race in 2012.


The Mountain West lost a pair of schools as Utah went to the Pac-12 and BYU bounced to the West Coast Conference. Even though the MWC will have only five teams in 2012, the league will not lose its automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The MWC will be increase to six teams in 2013.


The MEAC added two schools as North Carolina Central and Savannah State leave the land of the independents.


Campbell left the Atlantic Sun and returned to the Big South.


Four schools left the Division I ranks. Cleveland State of the Horizon League dropped its baseball program at the conclusion of the 2011 campaign. Centenary of the Summit League and independents Le Moyne and New Orleans all moved to Division II.


There is one new member of Division I as Nebraska-Omaha will play as an independent in 2012 before joining the Summit League for the 2013 season.


Four schools completed their transition to Division I and are now eligible for an NCAA tourney bid: FGCU, Houston Baptist, NC Central and USC Upstate. Six schools continue their transition: Bryant, Nebraska-Omaha, North Dakota, Presbyterian, Seattle and SIU Edwardsville.


Don’t get too used to this conference alignment, as there will be more changes for the 2013 season:


TCU will leave the Mountain West for the Big East

Hawaii will exit the WAC for the Big West

Fresno State and Nevada will depart the WAC for the Mountain West

Texas State, UTSA and UT Arlington will leave the Southland for the WAC

Independent Seattle will head to the WAC

Independent Nebraska-Omaha will join the Summit

Belmont will bolt from the Atlantic Sun to the OVC


Who knows what awaits in 2014? Stay tuned.