June 28, 2011

CBI Live: South Carolina 5, Florida 2

CWS Results


College World Series Notes

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder


(photo by Phil Stanton)


South Carolina is the first team to go 10-0 in a single NCAA Tournament (3-0 in Regional, 2-0 in Super Regional, 5-0 in College World Series). Miami (1999 and 2001) and LSU (2000) both went 9-0 to win national crowns.


The Gamecocks are the sixth program to win consecutive CWS titles, joining Texas (1949-50), USC (1970-71-72-73-74), Stanford (1987-88), LSU (1996-97) and Oregon State (2006-07).


South Carolina has won 11 straight CWS games and 16 consecutive NCAA Tournament contests, both NCAA records.


South Carolina second baseman Scott Wingo was named the CWS Most Outstanding Player. He batted .333 (6 for 18) in five games with one double, one run and four RBI. He walked once and was plunked five times for an on-base percentage of .480. Wingo led the Gamecocks with 27 assists. He committed just one error in 43 chances for a fielding percentage of .977.


The combined batting average for the eight teams was .239, the lowest average since the 1974 octet hit .227. The combined ERA of 2.66 was the lowest since 2.51 in 1973.


The USC pitching staff posted a team ERA of 1.31 in its 10 NCAA tourney games. The bullpen went 6-0 with five saves and a 0.53 ERA in 33.2 innings without allowing an extra-base hit.


Junior left-hander Michael Roth made three starts in the CWS for the Gamecocks. He only got one win, but allowed 13 hits and three earned runs in 22 innings for an ERA of 1.23. He walked nine and struck out 17. Roth has pitched 38.1 career innings at the CWS with a 1.17 ERA. Roth is second to Steve Arlin (47 IP, 0.96 ERA).


A crowd of 26,721 watched South Carolina clinch its second straight CWS title, a record for TD Ameritrade Park. The 2011 CWS drew 321,684 fans, an average of 22,977.


2011 CWS All-Tournament Team

C Robert Beary, South Carolina

1B Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B Scott Wingo, South Carolina

3B Cody Dent, Florida

SS Peter Mooney, South Carolina

OF Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

OF Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt

OF Bryson Smith, Florida

DH Brady Thomas, South Carolina

P Michael Roth, South Carolina

P Matt Price, South Carolina


Most Outstanding Player: Scott Wingo, South Carolina