May 29, 2011


NCAA announces 16 regional sites


The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has announced the 16 regional sites for the 2011 NCAA Tournament.


Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech)

Austin, Texas (Texas)

Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)

Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia)

Clemson, S.C. (Clemson)

College Station, Texas (Texas A&M)

Columbia, S.C. (South Carolina)

Corvallis, Ore. (Oregon State)

Fort Worth, Texas (TCU)

Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State Fullerton)

Gainesville, Fla. (Florida)

Houston, Texas (Rice)

Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA)

Nashville, Tenn. (Vanderbilt)

Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)

Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State)


The 16 host institutions have been selected to the 64-team field. The eight national seeds will come from these 16 schools. The remainder of the field will be announced on Monday, May 30.


All regionals will be held from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6.


There are five hosts from the ACC, three from both the SEC and Pac-10, two from the Big 12, and one each from the Big West, Conference USA and Mountain West.


Florida State will host for the 28th time, while Texas will host for the 26th time and Arizona State for the 21st time. Clemson (13), South Carolina (13), Georgia Tech (11), Cal State Fullerton (10) and Florida (10) have also hosted for at least 10 times.


Rice has hosted nine times, followed by Texas A&M (7), North Carolina (6), Virginia (5), Oregon State (3), TCU (3), UCLA (3) and Vanderbilt (2).


(photo by Jimmy Jones)