Jan. 28, 2010


NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List revealed


The sixth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award Watch List has been released. The award is presented to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I.


Nominations were made by each school’s baseball sports information contact. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I leader in saves and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as the award’s finalists. The NCBWA All-America Committee will select a winner from the list of finalists. The winner will be announced in Omaha on June 19, the opening day of the College World Series.


Addison Reed (right) of San Diego State was the 2009 winner and returns to the watch list. He registered 20 saves in 20 opportunities to lead the nation a year ago, as well as setting school and Mountain West Conference single-season records.


Two of the other finalists return to the watch list: LSU’s Matty Ott and two-time finalist Eric Pettis of UC Irvine.


The Big 12 leads all conferences with five players on the watch list. The ACC, SEC and Conference USA each had four, followed by three from the Pac-10.The Big East, Big West, CAA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Southland and West Coast each has two players. The Big South, Big Ten, Horizon, Patriot, Southern and Summit each had one player on the watch list.


There are seven seniors, 21 juniors and 12 sophomores on the watch list.


2010 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Pitcher, School, Year

Steve Arico, Virginia, Jr.
Chris Bassit, Akron, So.
Colin Bates, North Carolina, Jr.
Chad Bettis, Texas Tech, Sr.
Mike Bolsinger, Arkansas, Sr.
Collin Cargill, Southern Miss, Jr.
Andrew Chafin, Kent State, So.
Chase Dempsay, Houston, Jr.
Ryan Duke, Oklahoma, Jr.
Chris Enourato, West Virginia, Sr.
Nick Fleece, Texas A&M, Jr.
Chris Franklin, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.
Drew Gagnier, Oregon, Jr.
Tim Girdwood, Elon, Jr.
Cole Green, Texas, Jr.
Austin Hubbard, Auburn, Sr.
Mitchell Lambson, Arizona State, So.
Justin Malone, Georgia State, So.
Eric Marshall, TCU, Sr.
Cody Martin, Gonzaga, Jr.
Scott Matyas, Minnesota, Jr.
Randy McCurry, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Kevin McKague, Army, Jr.
Jarad Miller, Valparaiso, Jr.
Tyler Mizenko, Winthrop, So.
Kevin Moran, Boston College, Jr.
Jake Morgan, Mississippi,  Jr.
Kevin Munson, James Madison, Jr.
Matty Ott, LSU, So.
Nick Pepitone, Tulane, Jr.
Eric Pettis, UC Irvine, Sr.
Mark Pope, Georgia Tech, So.
Nick Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton, So.
Addison Reed, San Diego State, So.
Kevin Rhoderick, Oregon State, Jr.
Michael Schum, Wright State, So.
Gabriel Shaw, Louisville, Jr.
Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State, So.
Seth Simmons, East Carolina, Jr.
Zach Varce, Portland, So.

Previous Winners

2005 J. Brent Cox, Texas

2006 Don Czyz, Kansas

2007 Luke Prihoda, Sam Houston State

2008 Joshua Fields, Georgia

2009 Addison Reed, San Diego State


(photo by Chris Hadorn)