Feb. 3, 2010

click here for CBI MVC preview

click here for coaches' MVC preseason poll


MVC announces preseason all-conference team


Wichita State was picked to win the Missouri Valley Conference this year, and placed two on the preseason all-conference team. The team was voted on by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Shockers had senior first baseman Clint McKeever and sophomore starting pitcher Jordan Cooper on the preseason all-conference team.


Defending regular-season champion Missouri State had three voted to the preseason all-conference team: sophomore second baseman Kevin Medrano (2009 MVC Freshman of the Year), junior outfielder Aaron Conway and junior starting pitcher Aaron Meade.


The season begins on Feb. 19, with conference play starting on March 26.


2010 MVC Preseason All-Conference Team


1B – Clint McKeever, Sr., Wichita State

2B – Kevin Medrano, So., Missouri State

3B – Cody Fick, Jr., Evansville

SS – Elliot Soto, Jr., Creighton

C – Kevin Sullivan, Sr., Bradley

DH – Tyler Bullock, Sr., Southern Illinois

UT – Tom Herthoff, Sr., Evansville

OF – Ryan Strausborger, Sr., Indiana State

OF – Robbie Knight, Sr., Creighton

OF – Aaron Conway, Jr., Missouri State

SP – Jordan Cooper, So., Wichita State

SP – Aaron Meade, Jr., Missouri State

RP – Bryant George, Sr., Southern Illinois

RP – Bobby Lackovic, Sr., Creighton