Feb. 4, 2010

click here for CBI Horizon preview


Wright State rises to top of Horizon League poll


Wright State has been selected to win the 2010 Horizon League Championship in voting by the league’s head coaches and released by the conference office.


The Raiders got six first-place votes and the maximum of 36 points. Wright State won its third conference tournament title a season ago and made its third NCAA Tournament appearance.


UIC, the regular-season champion of 2009, received the other first-place vote and tallied 31 points. Milwaukee took third with 24 points, followed by Valparaiso, Youngstown State, Cleveland State and Butler.


Cleveland State, UIC, Valparaiso and Wright State begin the season the weekend of Feb. 19-21, with Butler, Milwaukee and Youngstown State taking the field the weekend of Feb. 26-28. The 2010 Horizon League Championship will be held May 26-30 at the U.S. Steel Yard in Gary, Ind. The top six teams will compete in the double-elimination tournament for the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.


2010 Predicted Order of Finish

(2009 Horizon/overall records, points, first-place votes)


1 Wright State (14-12, 33-30) 36 (6)

2 UIC (17-6, 29-23) 31 (1)

3 Milwaukee (14-9, 28-27) 24

4 Valparaiso (12-11, 28-24) 22

5 Youngstown State (10-14, 16-35) 15

6 Cleveland State (12-13, 21-31) 12

7 Butler (6-20, 13-41) 7