2010 Tempe Super Regional

Capsules by Barrett Neale, Michael Perry, Matt Mullen, Andrew Woods, Sean Ryan, Phil Stanton


1. Arizona State Sun Devils

Tempe, Arizona

Automatic Bid - Won Pac-10 regular season title, Won Tempe Regional

2010 record: 20-7, 50-8 (first in Pac-10)

Head coach: Tim Esmay (Arizona State, 1987)

Record at school: 50-8 in first season

Overall record: 258-242 in 10 seasons

Assistant coaches: Travis Jewett, Ken Knutson, Mike Benjamin

Team offense: .341 BA, 499 R , 63 HR, .541 SLG%, .437 OB%, 130-/171 SB

Team pitching: 3.10 ERA, 517 IP, 456 H, 154 BB, 511 K

Top hitters: Riccio Torrez (.404/9/51/27 2B/21 HBP/20-24 SB), Deven Marrero (.397/6/37/11 2B/10-11 SB), Zack MacPhee (.394/9/63/14 3B/19-23 SB), Johnny Ruettiger (.362/4/35), Zach Wilson (.348/6/43/17 2B), Drew Maggi (.343/4/37/10 2B/34-42 SB), Kole Calhoun (.325/16/58/11 2B)

Top pitchers: Brady Rodgers (4-3, 3 SV, 1.96 ERA, 69 IP, 47 H, 11 BB, 66 K), Jordan Swagerty (1-0, 14 SV, 2.05 ERA, 30.2 IP, 29 H, 10 BB, 39 K), Mitchell Lambson (7-2, 3 SV, 2.26 ERA, 63.2 IP, 37 H, 17 BB, 83 K), Seth Blair (12-0, 3.06 ERA, 97 IP, 96 H, 22 H, 98 K), Merrill Kelly (10-2, 3.52 ERA, 92 IP, 82 H, 34 BB, 70 K), Jake Borup (11-1, 4.08 ERA, 81.2 IP, 79 H, 26 BB, 63 K)

Last NCAA appearance: 2009 (3-0 in Tempe Regional, 2-0 in Tempe Super Regional, 2-2 at College World Series)

Notes: The Sun Devils are looking for their sixth CWS title. ASU is the only school to host a Super Regional each of the past four seasons. The Sun Devils are 8-5 all-time in Super Regionals. ASU went 2-0 against Clemson a year ago to advance to Omaha. First-year head coach Tim Esmay has continued to keep ASU’s tradition of success rolling as it clinched the Pac-10 title with a win over Stanford. Riccio Torrez and Zac MacPhee make up the backbone of the ASU lineup. The pitching staff features three quality starters in Blair, Kelly and Borup. Closer Swagerty will be sure to rescue the Sun Devils from close games as he has tallied 14 saves.


Arkansas Razorbacks

Fayetteville, Arkansas

At-large bid from SEC, Won Fayetteville Regional

2010 record: 18-12, 43-19 (second in SEC West)

Head coach: Dave Van Horn (Arkansas, 1988)

Record at school: 319-177, 8 years

Overall record: 904-417, 22 years

Assistant coaches: Todd Butler, Dave Jorn, Chris Curry

Team offense: .308 BA, 470 R, 90 HR, .499 SLG%, .398 OB%, 72-89 SB

Team pitching: 3.92 ERA, 551.1 IP, 532 H, 170 BB, 529 K

Top hitters: Zack Cox (.427/9/48/12 2B/11-12 SB), Collin Kuhn (.348/16/52/18 2B/25 HBP/17-18 SB), Brett Eibner (.337/21/69/16 2B), Bo Bigham (.306/3/28/14 2B/14-16 SB), Monk Kreder (.292/4/45/14 2B), Andy Wilkins (.276/15/68/14 2B)

Top pitchers: Drew Smyly (9-1, 2.56 ERA, 98.1 IP, 78 H, 33 BB, 108 K), TJ Forrest (8-0, 1 SV, 3.10 ERA, 52.1 IP, 54 H, 11 BB, 40 K), Geoffrey Davenport (2-2, 3.63 ERA, 39.2 IP, 40 H, 17 BB, 46 K), DJ Baxendale (0-2, 7 SV, 4.00 ERA, 54 IP, 58 H, 15 BB, 40 K), Mike Bolsinger (6-5, 4.77 ERA, 83 IP, 82 H, 22 BB, 75 K)

Last NCAA appearance: 2009 (3-0 at Norman Regional, 2-0 at Tallahassee Super Regional, 2-2 in College World Series)

Notes: Arkansas followed up its trip to the 2009 College World Series with a season worthy of hosting a Regional. The Razorbacks are making their fourth Super Regional Appearance. Arkansas was 1-2 at Clemson in 2002, 2-0 at home against Florida State in 2004 and 2-0 at Florida State a season ago. Coach Dave Van Horn has guided the Razorbacks to the postseason in each of his eight seasons and has four trips to Omaha on his resume, two at Nebraska and two at Arkansas. Pitching coach Dave Jorn has had two stints with the Hogs, this one starting in 2003 after 14 years in Major League Baseball. The Razorbacks were 29-9 at home this year. Zack Cox, one of the nation's leading hitters, was named a team captain as a sophomore. Collin Kuhn set the school record with 25 HBP. Kuhn had four homers and nine RBI in four regional contests. Outfielder/pitcher Brett Eibner was drafted in the fourth round by the Houston Astros out of high school. Eibner had three homers and eight RBI in the Fayetteville Regional. Lefty starter Drew Smyly, like Cox and Eibner, were held out of the SEC tourney because of injuries. The Razorbacks have nine pitchers who have logged at least 35 innings this year.