June 22, 2010

Game 7 Recap

College World Series Schedule and Game Stories

College World Series Capsules


College World Series - Game 7 Notes

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder



Arizona State is the first No. 1 national seed to reach Omaha and go 0-2 at the College World Series under the current format which began in 1999. It was also the first time this season that the Sun Devils lost consecutive games.




UCLA (#6) is the only national seed remaining in the CWS.




With the exit of Arizona State, Oklahoma is the only remaining team which has won a national championship.




South Carolina has won 44 straight games in which it has scored 10 or more runs, dating back to a 12-11 loss at Arkansas on May 9, 2008.




The Gamecocks are 8-0 on Tuesdays this season.




This was the second time that the Sun Devils allowed 10 or more runs in a game this season. ASU lost 12-4 at Arizona on May 16.




Riccio Torrez had his 26-game hit streak snapped. It was the fifth-longest streak in ASU history. Torrez was hit twice by pitches, giving him 25 on the season, the top mark in the Pac-10.