March 23, 2010


Moore named semifinalist for Sullivan Award


Clint Moore, a junior shortstop at Army, was named one of 14 nominees for the 2009 AAU Sullivan Award.


Presented annually since 1930, the award honors the top amateur athlete in the nation. The Sullivan Award is based on leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism.


Click here to vote for the 2009 AAU Sullivan Award. Based on voting results, a list of finalists will be announced in the next two weeks.


The Sullivan Award Reception and Presentation will occur on April 14 at The New York Athletic Club in New York City.


A native of Greensboro, N.C., Moore was First Team All-Patriot League and Third Team All-America by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) in 2009. He was one of 15 semifinalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, given to the top shortstop in the country by the College Baseball Foundation. Moore batted .395 with 18 doubles, five triples, 11 home runs, 58 runs and 65 RBI. He posted an on-base percentage of .494, a slugging percentage of .724 and a fielding average of .971.


Moore is the only college baseball player to be named a semifinalist. Other collegians among the nominees include Mark Ingram, Heisman Trophy winner from Alabama, and Tina Charles, a member of Connecticut’s women’s basketball team.


The 14 nominees are:

Angela Bizzarri, cross country

Zak Boggs, soccer

Duran Caferro Jr., boxing

Tina Charles, basketball

Troy Dumais, diving

Armanti Edwards, football

Erin Hamlin, luge

Megan Hodge, volleyball

Mark Ingram, football

Clint Moore, baseball

Amy Palmiero-Winters, paralympic ultra marathon

Sanya Richards, track and field

Jennifer Song, golf

Rebecca Soni, swimming


Recent winners of the Sullivan Award include Shawn Johnson (gymnastics) in 2008, Tim Tebow (football) in 2007, Jessica Long (paralympic swimming) in 2006, J.J. Redick (basketball) in 2005, Paul Hamm (gymnastics) in 2004, Michael Phelps (swimming) in 2003, Sarah Hughes (figure skating) in 2002 and Michelle Kwan (figure skating) in 2001.


(photo courtesy of Army Media Relations Office)