Feb. 17, 2010


Senior CLASS candidates announced


There are 30 candidates for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for Division I baseball. Each candidate must have notable achievements in four areas: classroom, character, community and competition.


The group will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season. Ballots will then be sent to a nationwide panel of media, coaches and fans. The winner will be announced at the College World Series in June.


This is the fourth year for the baseball division of the award. Previous winners include Emeel Salem of Alabama in 2007, Cole St. Clair of Rice in 2008 and Brandon McArthur (right) of Florida in 2009.


2010 Candidates


D.J. Belfonte, outfield, Nebraska

Daniel Bibona, pitcher, UC Irvine

Shane Brown, outfield, UCF

Stephen Cardullo, shortstop, Florida State

Ian Choy, outfield/DH, Canisius

Wes Cunningham, first base, Murray State

Devon Dageford, outfield, Louisiana Tech

Blake Dean, first base, LSU

Mike Donato, outfield, Massachusetts

Michael Fabiaschi, second base, James Madison

Jeremy Gould, pitcher/utility, Duke

Clay Jones, first base, Alabama

Jim Klocke, catcher/pitcher, Southeast Missouri State

Cory Kovanda, second base, Ohio State

Francis Larson, catcher, UC Irvine

Drew Lee, infield, Morehead State

Tyler Lyons, pitcher, Oklahoma State

Clint McKeever, first base, Wichita State

Russell Moldenhauer, DH/outfield, Texas

Kevin Nieto, outfield, Manhattan

Matt Payton, infield, Western Kentucky

Eric Pettis, pitcher, UC Irvine

Tony Plagman, first base, Georgia Tech

Derek Poppert, shortstop, San Francisco

Kenneth Roberts, pitcher, Middle Tennessee

Kyle Roller, DH/first base, East Carolina

Mike Sodders, infield, New Mexico State

Josh Spence, pitcher, Arizona State

David Towarnicky, first base, Appalachian State

Corey Valine, third base/catcher, San Jose State


(photo courtesy of Florida Media Relations Office)