Jan. 23, 2010


CAA Silver Anniversary Team announced


The Colonial Athletic Association announced its Silver Anniversary Team, which features 10 former CAA Players of the Year, 17 All-Americans and 11 former or current Major League players.


The team was selected by a panel of current and former coaches in the conference.


The members of the CAA Silver Anniversary Team are:


Dana Allison, James Madison

Sean Casey, Richmond (right)

Jason Dubois, VCU

Tommy Eason, East Carolina

Kevin Gibbs, Old Dominion

Wayne Gomes, Old Dominion

Brendan Harris, William & Mary

Ronald Hill, UNC Wilmington

Tim Hummel, Old Dominion

Brandon Inge, VCU

Winfred Johnson, East Carolina

Brian Jordan, Richmond

Eddie Kim, James Madison

Scott Krieger, George Mason

Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison

Sean Marshall, VCU

Cla Meredith, VCU

Greg Miller, James Madison

Sergio Miranda, VCU

Jeff Palumbo, George Mason

Matt Quatraro, Old Dominion

John Raynor, UNC Wilmington

Justin Verlander, Old Dominion

Ron Walker, Old Dominion

Chris Widger, George Mason


Nine different schools earned CAA baseball titles over the past 25 seasons. East Carolina won seven championships over 14 years, including four straight from 1988-91. VCU has claimed four crowns (2002, 2003, 2005, 2007), while Old Dominion (1994-96) and Richmond (1986, 1997, 1998) won three each. George Mason (1988, 1992) and UNC Wilmington (2004, 2006) have won twice, while Georgia State (2009), James Madison (2008) and William & Mary (2001) have each captured one.


The CAA has sent multiple teams to the NCAA Tournament in nine of the past 12 years. The CAA had three teams earn bids in 1995, 1999 and 2001.


Click here for biographies of CAA Silver Anniversary Team.


(photo courtesy of Richmond Media Relations Office)