Feb. 18, 2010


National College Baseball Hall of Fame class announced


The class of 2010 for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame was released, led by Dave Magadan (right).


Magadan, currently the hitting coach for the Boston Red Sox, received the highest number of votes. He played both first base and third base for Alabama from 1981-83. Magadan won the Golden Spikes Award in 1983, when he hit a blistering .525.


The rest of the class includes: Alan Bannister, shortstop, Arizona State; Bob Bennett, coach, Fresno State; Eddy Furniss, first baseman, LSU; Don Heinkel, pitcher, Wichita State; Wally Kincaid, coach, Cerritos College; George Sisler, pitcher/outfielder, Michigan; B.J. Surhoff, catcher, North Carolina; Charles Teague, second baseman, Wake Forest; and Richard Wortham, pitcher, Texas.


The inductees will be honored on July 1 as part of the College Baseball Foundation’s annual celebration of both the past and present of college baseball from July 1-3 in Lubbock, Texas.


Bannister (1970-72) was twice named first team All-WAC and posted a career batting average of .355. He helped the Sun Devils win the 1972 College World Series before becoming the No. 1 overall pick by the Philadelphia Phillies in the 1973 MLB Draft.


Bennett (1977-2002) recorded 1,300 career wins. He led the Bulldogs to 26 consecutive winning seasons, beginning with his first season. He was named conference Coach of the Year 14 times and in 1988 was named NCAA Coach of the Year. In 2000, he also won the American Baseball Coaches Association’s Lefty Gomez Award, which recognizes contributions to the game of baseball.


Furniss (1995-98) won the Dick Howser Trophy in 1998. He finished his Tiger career as the SEC leader in hits, homers, RBI, doubles and total bases. In addition to multiple All-America honors, Furniss also was recognized as an Academic All-American. He was a fourth-round draft pick of the Pitts­burgh Pirates in 1998.


Heinkel (1979-82) is the winningest pitcher in NCAA Division I history with 51 victories. As a freshman, he threw a seven-inning no-hitter again Illinois. He recorded eight career shutouts and 354 strikeouts with a 2.62 ERA in 467 innings.


Kincaid (1958-77, 1979-80) compiled a 678-163 record and led his teams to 15 conference championships and 51 tournament championships.


Sisler (1913-15) led Michigan to a 22-4-1 record in 1913 as a sophomore with a .445 batting average and hit .451 in his final season. Despite pitching records not being kept, it is believed that Sisler only suffered three pitching defeats during his college career.


Surhoff (1983-85) was the 1985 National Player of the Year and a 1984 Olympian. He still holds the UNC record for career batting average at .392 and is in the top five in program history for hits, runs and stolen bases. He is one of only two Tar Heels to have his number retired.


Teague (1947-50) played second base and became the school’s first baseball All-American in 1947. He was the first player named Most Outstanding Player at the College World Series. He batted .335 in his career with 119 runs, 166 hits and 99 RBI. He also is one of only 11 three-time, first-team All-Americans.


Wortham (1973-76) became the first 50-game winner in NCAA history and remains the second-winningest pitcher in NCAA Division I history. He recorded 12 career shutouts and 481 strikeouts. He helped Texas win four Southwest Conference titles and was named team MVP in 1975.


(photo courtesy of Alabama Media Relations Office)