June 24, 2009

Championship Series Game 3 Recap

College World Series Game Stories and Notes

College World Series Capsules


College World Series - Championship Series Game 3 Notes

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder

LSU scored first and in the first inning in each of its five CWS wins. LSU is 29-3 when scoring first. Texas scored first and blanked the Tigers in the first in Tuesday’s 5-1 Longhorn win.


LSU scored seven of its 11 runs on Wednesday with two outs.


Texas left 12 on base, including leaving the bases loaded in the first and third.


Paul Mainieri mixed the order up a bit, and it paid off in the first. Jared Mitchell was moved up into the 5-hole and he came up with two on and two out and hit a line-drive, three-run homer for a 3-0 lead.

Texas opted for three straight changeups to Mitchell in the first. The third time was a charm for the Tigers as Mitchell hammered a change just inside the right-field foul pole for a three-run homer.

Texas' Kevin Keyes, who ripped a two-run homer to tie the game at 4, experienced cramps and battled through the end of the game. In the eighth inning, Austin Wood was drilled with a one-hop, come-backer in the eighth and had to leave the game. He was replaced by Keith Shinaberry, who contributed a journal to CollegeBaseballInsider.com this season.

Speaking of Shinaberry, he will spend the next two years teaching in a program called Teach for America. The Austin native told the program he'd teach wherever: His assignment will be teaching pre-algebra at Todd County High School on the Rosebud Indian Reservation in South Dakota. The Teach for America program sends college graduates to underprivileged areas to teach and influence today's youth. Visit www.teachforamerica.org for more information.

Chad Jones, a safety on LSU's football team, was brilliant in relief, tossing 1.2 scoreless innings. The left-hander was mixing a 92-mph fastball with a tight, nasty slider. After losing his starting role in the outfield, the Tigers gave him a look as a pitcher. He now may have to make a decision on pitching baseballs or hitting wide receivers in the pros.

LSU centerfielder Mikie Mahtook.had a great running catch in the bottom of the third. With runners on first and second with no outs, Russell Moldenhauer lined a ball to left center. Mahtook got a good jump and pulled it in to control the inning. The Longhorns scored two, but could have had more.


LSU has tied Texas for second with six national titles. USC leads with 12. This is the first championship for the Tigers since 2000.


The Tigers have a 3-2 mark against the Longhorns in Omaha, including 2-1 in 2009.


The 2009 College World Series broke the attendance record with 336,076, passing last year’s mark of 330,099.


2009 College World Series All-Tournament Team

Catcher: Cameron Rupp, Texas

First Base: Dustin Ackley, North Carolina

Second Base: DJ LeMahieu, LSU

Third Base: Kyle Seager, North Carolina

Shortstop: Tyler Cannon, Virginia

Outfield: Kole Calhoun, Arizona State

Outfield: Jared Mitchell, LSU

Outfield: Ryan Schimpf, LSU

DH: Russell Moldenhauer, Texas

Pitcher: Anthony Ranaudo, LSU

Pitcher: Taylor Jungmann, Texas

Most Outstanding Player: Jared Mitchell, LSU


LSU is the first national seed to win the championship since Rice in 2003 and the first national champ to come out of Bracket One since Miami (Fla.) in 1999.


Texas is 82-55 all-time in CWS games. The Longhorns lead all programs with 82 wins and 137 games played.


Texas junior Russell Moldenhauer tied the CWS record with four home runs.


Most Home Runs – 4

Bud Hollowell, USC, 6 games, 1963

Gary Hymell, LSU, 4 games, 1991

J.D. Drew, Florida State, 3 games, 1995

Geoff Jenkins, USC, 6 games, 1995

Jason Lane, USC, 6 games, 1998

Brad Ticehurst, USC, 6 games, 1998

Edmond Muth, Stanford, 4 games, 2000

Logan Johnson, Louisville, 3 games, 2007

Tom Mendonca, Fresno State, 7 games, 2008

Russell Moldenhauer, Texas, 6 games, 2009


Texas freshman Taylor Jungmann tied the CWS record with three victories.


Most Wins – 3

James O’Neill, Holy Cross, 3 games, 1952

Joseph Pollack, Minnesota, 3 games, 1964

Russ McQueen, USC, 4 games, 1972

George Milke, USC, 3 games, 1974

Bob Chaulk, Arizona, 3 games, 1976

Kevin Sheary, Miami (Fla.), 3 games, 1985

Greg Brummett, Wichita State, 3 games, 1989

John Hudgins, Stanford, 3 games, 2003

Alex White, North Carolina, 4 games, 2008

Taylor Jungmann, Texas, 4 games, 2009