June 16, 2009

Game 8 Recap

College World Series Schedule and Game Stories

College World Series Capsules


College World Series - Game 8 Notes

By Phil Stanton

CollegeBaseballInsider.com Co-Founder

Tonight was the first time in College World Series history that three sons of former CWS players were on the field: Chance Ruffin (Bruce, 1985) and Brandon Loy (Darren 1983-84) of Texas and Matt Newman (Randy, 1981) of Arizona State. All three fathers played for the same team as their sons. There have now been 10 father/son combinations to play in the College World Series. The only other time multiple sons appeared in the CWS was in 1988 (David Haas and Jeff Bonacquista of Wichita State).


The time of the game was 4:04, the fifth-longest nine-inning game in CWS history. The longest was 4:21, as Miami (Fla.) outscored Tennessee 21-13 on June 9, 2001.


Texas and LSU are 2-0 in the CWS. 17 of the past 19 champions have started with two wins. USC in 1998 and Oregon State in 2006 both lost their opening game before winning the title.


LSU is the last remaining unbeaten team in the 2009 NCAA Tournament.


The winner of Bracket 2 has won the title each year since 2000.


Texas has won seven straight CWS games dating back to its 2005 national championship. Texas and Oregon State hold the longest active CWS win streaks at seven.


The six-run deficit by the Longhorns against ASU is the largest deficit overcome all season for Texas. The previous high was four against Army on May 31 in the final game of the Austin Regional (trailed 10-6, won 14-10).


Cameron Rupp of Texas became the 53rd player to hit two home runs in one CWS game. The last to do it was Steve Detwiler of Fresno State against Georgia on June 25, 2008. Three players have belted three homers in a CWS game: J.D. Drew of Florida State against USC in a losing effort on June 6, 1995; Edmund Muth of Stanford against Louisiana-Lafayette on June 15, 2000; and Jeff Larish of Arizona State against Nebraska on June 19, 2005, in an 11-inning victory.


Augie Garrido has 36 CWS victories, tying Jim Brock of Arizona State and Mark Marquess of Stanford for third on the all-time list. Rod Dedeaux of USC is first with 60 and Cliff Gustafson of Texas is second with 44.


Arizona State had its seven-game win streak snapped.


The six-run fourth for Texas was the most runs allowed in an inning by the Sun Devils this season.


Zach Calhoun homered in consecutive at-bats for Arizona State. He hit a three-run dinger in the 10th in his final plate appearance against North Carolina on Sunday. He had a solo shot leading off the second in his first at-bat against Texas.