May 24, 2009


NCAA announces 16 regional sites


The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee has announced the 16 regional sites for the NCAA Tournament.


Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech)

Austin, Texas (Texas)

Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)

Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)

Clemson, S.C. (Clemson)

Fort Worth, Texas (TCU)

Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State Fullerton)

Gainesville, Fla. (Florida)

Greenville, N.C. (East Carolina)

Houston, Texas (Rice)

Irvine, Calif. (UC Irvine)

Louisville, Ky. (Louisville)

Norman, Okla. (Oklahoma)

Oxford, Miss. (Mississippi)

Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)

Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State)


The 16 host institutions have been selected to the 64-team field. The eight national seeds will come from these 16 schools.


All regionals will be held from Friday, May 29, to Monday, June 1.


There are four hosts from the ACC, three from the SEC, two each from the Big 12, Big West and Conference USA, and one each from the Big East, Pac-10 and Mountain West.


Florida State will host for a record-28th time, while Texas will host for the 24th time. Arizona State and LSU will host for the 19th time. Clemson (12), Georgia Tech (9), Cal State Fullerton (8), Florida (8), Rice (8), Mississippi (5), North Carolina (5), Oklahoma (4) and East Carolina (3) have been previous hosts.


Louisville, TCU and UC Irvine will host for the first time.


(photo courtesy of LSU Media Relations Office)