July 1, 2009


Second Big East-Big Ten Challenge Announced


After nearly 17,000 spectators attended games this past February in the inaugural event, the second Big East-Big Ten Baseball Challenge will take place Feb. 26-28, 2010.


Hosted by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission, the event will include 10 teams from each conference participating in 30 games. The event will be managed by API Sports.


All 10 Big Ten baseball institutions will once again compete, including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue. The Big East will also have 10 teams, as Louisville, Rutgers and Villanova will make their first appearances, joining returning teams Cincinnati, Connecticut, Notre Dame, St. John’s, Seton Hall, USF and West Virginia.


Games will be played each day in St. Petersburg at the Raymond A. Naimoli Complex, the former spring training practice facility of the Tampa Bay Rays, and Al Lang Stadium, the former spring training game site of the Rays. Games in Clearwater will be played at Jack Russell Stadium, the former spring home of the Philadelphia Phillies.


The Big Ten compiled a record of 15-9 against the Big East in the 2009 Challenge. Ohio State and Michigan both posted 3-0 marks, while Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota and Penn State each went 2-1. Notre Dame, St. John’s and Seton Hall were each 2-1 for the Big East.


(photo by Jimmy Jones)