Sept. 3, 2009


2009 USA Baseball World Cup Team Announced


The roster has been released for the 2009 USA Baseball World Cup Team. More than have of the selections are former Division I players.


The team will play Canada’s World Cup Team Sept. 3-6 at the National Training Complex in Cary, N.C. The World Cup will be played in Europe in September.


Team USA will face three first-round opponents: Germany, Venezuela and China. The top two will advance. The first round will be held in Germany. Subsequent games would be played in either the Netherlands or Italy. The finals will be in Italy.


USA Baseball is the defending World Cup champion, having defeated Cuba 6-3 in 2007 in Taipei, Taiwan. It was the first title for the United States since 1974.


Pedro Alvarez INF Pit AA Vanderbilt
Cedrick Bowers LHP Phil AAA none
Jason Castro C Hou AA Stanford
Jason Childers RHP TB AAA Kennesaw State
Buck Coats OF Tor AAA none
Ike Davis OF NYM AA Arizona State
Daniel Descalso INF St. L AAA UC Davis
Geno Espineli LHP SF AAA TCU
Nate Field RHP Fla AAA non DI
Lucas Harrell RHP CWS AAA none
Tug Hulett INF KC AAA Auburn
Kasey Kiker LHP Tex AAA none
Josh Kroeger OF CWS AAA none
Brad Lincoln RHP Pit AAA Houston
Cory Luebke LHP SD AA Ohio State
Michael McKenry C Col AA Middle Tennessee
Trevor Plouffe INF Min AAA none
Trevor Reckling LHP LAA AA none
Todd Redmond RHP Atl AAA non DI
B.J. Rosenberg RHP Phil AA Louisville
Justin Smoak INF Tex AAA South Carolina
Terry Tiffee INF Phil AAA non DI
Ehren Wassermann RHP CWS AAA Samford
Jon Weber OF TB AAA Texas Tech