Feb. 18, 2009


USA Baseball Announces Golden Spikes Watch List


USA Baseball released its preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List. The award is sponsored by Major League Baseball and will be presented for the 32nd time.


The list of 50 players is highlighted by San Diego State right-hander Stephen Strasburg (right), who was a 2008 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist. Strasburg was 8-3 a season ago with 16 walks and 133 strikeouts. This past summer, Strasburg pitched for the USA Baseball National (Collegiate) and Olympic Teams. He was 3-0 with 48 strikeouts for the National Team. Strasburg was the only collegian on the bronze medal Olympic Team, fanning 16 in 11 innings.


Other 2008 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists on this season’s watch list include Dustin Ackley and Alex White of North Carolina, Kentrail Davis of Tennessee and Chris Dominguez.


There are three players each from LSU and North Carolina on the watch list. The Pac-10 and SEC lead the conferences with eight players on the watch list, followed by the ACC with six and the Big 12 with five.


USA Baseball will cut the watch list to 30 on May 26. That list will be sent to the voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches, select members of the media, former USA Baseball sports information directors, and current USA Baseball staff. There are nearly 150 voters in all.

Fan voting will again be available on May 26 at goldenspikesaward.com. Voters will be asked to select five players from the list of 30.


USA Baseball will announce the five finalists on June 2, and voting will resume that day.


The 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented on July 15 in St. Louis in conjunction with the Major League All-Star Game.
Past winners of the Golden Spikes Award
2008 Buster Posey, C, Jr., Florida State

2007 David Price, LHP, Jr., Vanderbilt

2006 Tim Lincecum, RHP, Jr., Washington

2005 Alex Gordon, 3B, Jr., Nebraska

2004 Jered Weaver, RHP, Jr., Long Beach State

2003 Rickie Weeks, 2B, Jr., Southern

2002 Khalil Greene, SS, Sr., Clemson

2001 Mark Prior, RHP, Jr., USC

2000 Kip Bouknight, RHP, Jr., South Carolina

1999 Jason Jennings, RHP, Jr., Baylor

1998 Pat Burrell, 3B, Jr., Miami (Fla.)

1997 J.D. Drew, OF, Jr., Florida State

1996 Travis Lee, 1B, So., San Diego State

1995 Mark Kotsay, OF, So., Cal State Fullerton

1994 Jason Varitek, C, Sr., Georgia Tech

1993 Darren Dreifort, RHP, Jr., Wichita State

1992 Phil Nevin, 3B, Jr., Cal State Fullerton

1991 Mike Kelly, OF, Jr., Arizona State

1990 Alex Fernandez, RHP, So., Miami Dade CC

1989 Ben McDonald, RHP, Jr., LSU

1988 Robin Ventura, 3B, Jr., Oklahoma State

1987 Jim Abbott, LHP, So., Michigan

1986 Mike Loynd, RHP, Sr., Florida State

1985 Will Clark, 1B, Jr., Mississippi State

1984 Oddibe McDowell, OF, Jr., Arizona State

1983 Dave Magadan, 1B, Jr., Alabama

1982 Augie Schmidt, SS, Jr., New Orleans

1981 Mike Fuentes, OF, Jr., Florida State

1980 Terry Francona, OF, Jr., Arizona

1979 Tim Wallach, 1B, Jr., Cal State Fullerton

1978 Bob Horner, 3B, Jr., Arizona State

2009 Preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List

Name, School, Pos, Class

Jason Stoffel, Arizona, RHP, Jr.

Jason Kipnis, Arizona State, OF, Jr.

Mike Leake, Arizona State, RHP/IF, Jr.

Kendal Volz, Baylor, RHP, Jr.

Josh Fellhauer, Cal State Fullerton, OF, Jr.

Blake Smith, California, OF/RHP, Jr.

Brett Jackson, California, OF, Jr.

Shane Davis, Canisius, LHP, So.

Rob Lyerly, Charlotte, OF/1B, Jr.

Scott Woodward, Coastal Carolina, 3B, So.

Brandon Sizemore, College of Charleston, 2B, Sr.

Cory Harrilchak, Elon, OF, Sr.

Matt den Dekker, Florida, OF, Jr.

Robbie Shields, Florida Southern, SS, Jr.

Tom Mendonca, Fresno State, 3B, Jr.

Alan Ahmady, Fresno State, 1B, Jr.

Rich Poythress, Georgia, 1B, Jr.

Derek Dietrich, Georgia Tech, SS, So.

Josh Phegley, Indiana, C, Jr.

Ben Tootle, Jacksonville State, RHP, Jr.

Greg Rohan, Kent State, 1B, Sr.

Chris Dominguez, Louisville, 3B, Jr.

Justin Marks, Louisville, LHP, Jr.

Blake Dean, LSU, OF, Jr.

D.J. LeMahieu, LSU, SS, So.

Micah Gibbs, LSU, C, So.

Nate Lape, Marshall, OF, Sr.

Chris Hernandez, Miami (Fla.), LHP, So.

Ryan Jackson, Miami (Fla.), SS, Jr.

Chris Fetter, Michigan, RHP, Sr.

Scott Bittle, Mississippi, RHP, Sr.

Kyle Gibson, Missouri, RHP, Jr.

Tim Clubb, Missouri State, RHP, Jr.

Alex White, North Carolina, RHP, Jr.

Dustin Ackley, North Carolina, 1B, Jr.

Matt Harvey, North Carolina, RHP, So.

A.J. Pollock, Notre Dame, OF, Jr.

Andrew Oliver, Oklahoma State, LHP, Jr.

Tyler Lyons, Oklahoma State, LHP, Jr.

Jerry Sulivan, Oral Roberts, RHP, Jr.

Ryan Ortiz, Oregon State, C, Jr.

Diego Seastrunk, Rice, C, Jr.

A.J. Griffin, San Diego, RHP, Jr.

Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State, RHP, Jr.

Jeff Inman, Stanford, RHP, Jr.

Kentrail Davis, Tennessee, OF, So.

Luke Anders, Texas A&M, 1B, Sr.

Eric Pettis, UC Irvine, RHP, Jr.

Grant Green, USC, SS, Jr.

Mike Minor, Vanderbilt, LHP, Jr.

(photo courtesy of SDSU Media Relations Office)