July 21, 2009


Cape Cod League All-Star Game to be Played Thursday


The 47th Cape Cod League All-Star Game will be played on Thursday, July 23, at 7 p.m. at Fenway Park in Boston.


The teams were selected by the league’s 10 managers.


The gates open at 3 p.m. Batting practice and autograph sessions will take place prior to the Home Run Hitting Contest at 5:15 p.m.


The game will be televised live on the New England Sports Network (NESN). Local NPR affiliate WCAI (90.1 FM) will provide radio coverage with Neal Conan and John Garner.


2009 Cape Cod League All-Stars


East Division



C Mike Murray, Chatham (Wake Forest)

1B Mickey Wiswall, Yarmouth-Dennis (Boston College)

2B Colin Walsh, Brewster (Stanford)

3B Jedd Gyorko, Brewster (West Virginia)

SS Blake Kelso, Yarmouth-Dennis (Houston)

LF Daniel Grovatt, Harwich (Virginia)

CF Gary Brown, Orleans (Cal State Fullerton) (pictured above, photo by Matt Brown)

RF Austin Wates, Yarmouth-Dennis (Virginia Tech)

DH John Barr, Brewster (Virginia)

P Rob Rasmussen, Orleans (UCLA)



C Dan Butler, Brewster (Arizona)

IF Tyler Hanover, Yarmouth-Dennis (LSU)

OF Alex Hassan, Orleans (Duke)

P Kyle Blair, Brewster (San Diego)

P Casey Gaynor, Orleans (Rutgers)
P Aaron Meade, Harwich (Missouri State)

P Elliot Glynn, Orleans (Connecticut)

P Chris Sale, Yarmouth-Dennis (Florida Gulf Coast)

P John Leonard, Yarmouth-Dennis (Boston College)

P Tyler Burgoon, Yarmouth-Dennis (Michigan)

P Russell Brewer, Chatham (Vanderbilt)



C Micah Gibbs, Yarmouth-Dennis (LSU)

P Taylor Hill, Chatham (Vanderbilt)

P Matthew Price, Harwich (Virginia Tech)

P Eric Jokisch, Harwich (Northwestern)


Home Run Hitting Contest

Jedd Gyorko, Brewster (West Virginia)

Connor Powers, Harwich (Mississippi State)

Harold Martinez, Brewster (Miami, Fla.)


West Division



C Cody Stanley, Cotuit (UNC Wilmington)

1B Kyle Roller, Bourne (East Carolina)

2B Nick Crawford, Hyannis (UAB)

3B Zach Cox, Cotuit (Arkansas)

SS B.A.Vollmuth, Falmouth (Southern Miss)

LF Todd Cunningham, Falmouth (Jacksonville State)

CF Brian Fletcher, Falmouth (Auburn)

RF Zach Cone, Cotuit (Georgia)

DH Ryan Cuneo, Hyannis (Delaware)

P Brandon Workman, Wareham (Texas)



C Cameron Rupp, Cotuit (Texas)

IF Derek Dietrich, Wareham (Georgia Tech)

OF Johnny Ruettiger, Hyannis (Arizona State)

P Jack Armstrong, Wareham (Vanderbilt)

P Eric Pfisterer, Wareham (Duke)

P Dallas Gallant, Hyannis (Sam Houston State)

P Stephen Harrold, Bourne (UNC Wilmington)

P Kevin Munson, Bourne (James Madison)

P Daniel Tillman, Cotuit (Florida Southern)

P Patrick Cooper, Falmouth (Des Moines CC)

P Taylor Wall, Falmouth (Rice)



C Dan Burkhart, Hyannis (Ohio State)

P Seth Rosin, Hyannis (Minnesota)

P Turner Phelps, Bourne (James Madison)

P Mark Gormley, Hyannis (Brown)


Home Run Hitting Contest

Hunter Morris, Falmouth (Auburn)

Brett Eibner, Wareham (Arkansas)

Kevin Patterson, Cotuit (Auburn)