March 18, 2009


Candidates Revealed for Lowe's CLASS Award


For the third consecutive year, Lowe’s will partner with the NCAA to present the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.


The student-athlete must be an NCAA Division I senior and have achievements in four areas: Classroom, Character, Community and Competition.


Rice pitcher Cole St. Clair was named the Nation’s Premier Senior Student-Athlete a season ago. Alabama infielder Emeel Salem won the first baseball award in 2007.


The list of 30 candidates, including Wagner catcher Chris Drechsel (right) will be reduced to 10 finalists midway through the regular season. Ballots will be distributed nationally to media, coaches and fans.


Sportscaster Dick Enberg, Honorary Chairman for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, came up with the idea for an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the large number of men’s basketball players leaving early for the NBA. The award was started to honor senior student-athletes who remained in school, exhausting their collegiate eligibility in pursuit of their college degree.


2009 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Baseball Candidates


Chris Auten, 1B, New Mexico State

Scott Bittle, P, Ole Miss

Andrew Carraway, P, Virginia

Louis Coleman, P, LSU

Brian Cloud, P, Texas Tech (left)

Clinton Cox, P, New Mexico

Steven Daniels, OF, Brown

Chris Drechsel, C, Wagner

Brandon Eller, IF, Arkansas State (right)

Grant Escue, 1B/OF, Bradley

Nick Faunce, OF, Kansas (left)

Nate Freiman, 1B/C, Duke

Nick Gaudi, P, Pepperdine

Jason Haniger, C, Georgia Tech

Chris Hervey, OF, Indiana

Trevor Holder, P, Georgia

Drew Johnson, OF, San Francisco (right)

Tyler Love, IF, Maryland-Eastern Shore

Brandon McArthur, IF, Florida

Brian Morrell, P, Eastern Illinois

Matt Nohelty, OF, Minnesota

James Oliver, P, UAB

Ben Orloff, SS, UC Irvine (left)

Kyle Rhoad, OF, Eastern Michigan

Michael Rockett, OF, UTSA

Joe Serafin, P, Vermont (right)

Nick Sullivan, OF, Nebraska

Kyle Thebeau, P, Texas A&M

Adam Warren, P, North Carolina

Matt Williams, C, Duke