Sept. 10, 2008


February Festival in Florida

Inaugural Big East/Big Ten Challenge Announced


The 2009 season will kick off with a bang with the inaugural Big East/Big Ten Baseball Challenge, hosted by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission.


There will be 27 games played February 20-22 at various spring training venues in the St. Petersburg/Clearwater area.


All 10 of the Big Ten’s baseball-playing schools will compete, including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue. Eight Big East teams will participate, including Cincinnati, Connecticut, Georgetown, Notre Dame, St. John’s, Seton Hall, South Florida and West Virginia.


There will be eight inter-conference games each day, with the two extra Big Ten teams playing a non-league contest. Contests will be held at Bright House Field, Knology Park and Progress Energy Park/Al Lang Field, with marquee matchups scheduled as part of nightly doubleheaders.


API Marketing will manage the event.


Big East/Big Ten Challenge Matchups


Day 1 - Friday, February 20

Ohio State vs. Notre Dame

Penn State vs. St. John's

Illinois vs. Iowa

Michigan State vs. Connecticut

Michigan vs. South Florida

Northwestern vs. Georgetown

Minnesota vs. Seton Hall

Indiana vs. West Virginia

Purdue vs. Cincinnati


Day 2 - Saturday, February 21

Michigan vs. Cincinnati

Purdue vs. South Florida

Penn State vs. Northwestern

Ohio State vs. Connecticut

Indiana vs. Georgetown

Illinois vs. Notre Dame

Minnesota vs. West Virginia

Michigan State vs. Seton Hall

Iowa vs. St. John's


Day 3 - Sunday, February 22

Michigan vs. St. John's

Ohio State vs. Cincinnati

Minnesota vs. Michigan State

Northwestern vs. Connecticut

Indiana vs. South Florida

Iowa vs. Georgetown

Purdue vs. Notre Dame

Penn State vs. Seton Hall

Illinois vs. West Virginia