June 26, 2008


2008 College World Series


Day 12 Notes


Fresno State won its first baseball national championship. It was the school’s second NCAA Division I title. The women’s softball team won the 1998 crown.


Fresno State is the fifth straight national champion not to be a national seed. The Bulldogs are the seventh straight champion to come from west of the Mississippi River.


Mike Batesole is the first head coach to win a title in his first appearance in Omaha singe Pepperdine’s Andy Lopez did it in 1992.


The WAC has now won seven baseball championships. Rice won the most recent in 2003. Other winners include Arizona in 1976 and Arizona State in 1965, 1967, 1969 and 1977.


Fresno State is the first national champion with 30 losses. Prior to this season, the 1998 Stanford team had a record of 46-23 (.667) for the most losses and the lowest win percentage for a national champ.


Fresno State is now 6-0 this season in elimination games, winning one over San Diego in the Long Beach Regional, two at No. 3 Arizona State in the Tempe Super Regional and one over No. 2 North Carolina and two over No. 8 Georgia in the College World Series.


Steve Detwiler is the fourth player to hit two home runs in a CWS Championship Game and the first since Rob Gorr of USC in 1998. The other two who accomplished the feat are Mark Kotsay of Cal State Fullerton in 1995 and Bill Horning of Minnesota in 1956.


Steve Susdorf had his 33rd double, the top mark in Division I.


Gordon Beckham had 113 hits this season, setting a Georgia record. His home run tied Matt Clark for the national lead with 28.


The 2008 CWS had a record attendance of 330,099. The previous mark was 310,609, set in 2006.


The 2008 CWS All-Tournament Team

Catcher: Jason Castro, Stanford

First Base: Dustin Ackley, North Carolina

Second Base: Erik Wetzel, Fresno State

Third Base: Tommy Mendonca, Fresno State

Shortstop: Gordon Beckham, Georgia

Outfield: Tim Fedroff, North Carolina

Outfield: Steve Susdorf, Fresno State

Outfield: Steve Detwiler, Fresno State

Designated Hitter: Ryan Peisel, Georgia

Pitcher: Alex White, North Carolina

Pitcher: Justin Wilson, Fresno State

Most Outstanding Player: Tommy Mendonca, Fresno State