June 20, 2007

College World Series Capsules

College World Series Schedule and Recaps


Turpen tames Anteaters in 7-1 win

OSU returns to championship series for second straight season


Daniel Turpen allowed five hits and one run over eight innings as defending national champion Oregon State defeated UC Irvine 7-1 Wednesday evening at the College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium.


The Beavers (47-18) will face the winner of Thursday’s Rice-North Carolina game in the championship series beginning Saturday at 7 p.m. EDT. OSU looks to become the first team to win consecutive titles since LSU in 1996 and 1997. The Anteaters finish their season with a 47-17-1 record.


Turpen (10-1) walked three and fanned five. Joe Paterson tossed a perfect ninth for OSU.


Mitch Canham had three hits and three RBI for the Beavers. His two-run homer highlighted a four-run third for OSU, with all four runs being unearned. Canham added an RBI single in the eighth. Darwin Barney singled and scored in the third, and contributed run-scoring singles in the fifth and seventh.


UCI tallied its lone run in the top of the fourth as Cody Cipriano doubled and came in on a base hit by Ollie Linton.


OSU has not trailed since the second inning of its regional game at Virginia on June 5, a span of 52 innings over six games. The Beavers have not trailed a College World Series contest in 41 innings, since the fourth innings of the second game of last year’s championship series against the Tar Heels.