

May 7, 2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Andrea Watson, (806) 239-0522 or andrea@collegebaseballfoundation.org

BROOKS WALLACE AWARD WATCH LIST NARROWED TO 25

LUBBOCK, Texas — The quarterfinalists for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award were released today by the College Baseball Foundation. The revised list features 25 of the nation's finest shortstops.

The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.

"These players have recorded some very impressive statistics," said Kevin Dunagan, Wallace Award cochair. "They started the season strong and have continued to build on that success."

The revised watch list features shortstops from 15 conferences, with the ACC, Big 12 and SEC leading the pack with three representatives each.

Ryan Soares of George Mason leads the watch list in batting average (.411). He also has 60 RBIs and a .975 fielding percentage.

Adam Bryan of Troy has the highest fielding percentage at .991 to go along with his .353 batting average, 41 RBIs and 13 homeruns.

The leading home run hitter on the list is Morehead State's Drew Lee, who has 15 on the season, along with 14 doubles and one triple. He also leads in RBIs, with 62.

"We have a very strong field of candidates for this award again this year," Dunagan said. "I have no doubt they will continue to put up strong numbers as the season winds down."

The College Baseball Awards Show will take place on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

BROOKS WALLACE AWARD WATCH LIST

Name	School	Conference
Josh Rutledge	Alabama	SEC
Drew Maggi	Arizona State	Pac-10
Tim Carver	Arkansas	SEC
Christian Colon	Cal State Fullerton	Big West
Marcus Semien	California	Pac-10
Taylor Motter	Coastal Carolina	Big South
Neal Pritchard	Elon	Southern
Stephen Wickens	Florida Gulf Coast	Atlantic Sun
Ryan Soares	George Mason	Colonial
Derek Dietrich	Georgia Tech	ACC
Carter Jurica	Kansas State	Big 12
Adam Duvall	Louisville	Big East
Austin Nola	Louisiana State	SEC
Jonathan Roof	Michigan State	Big Ten
Drew Lee	Morehead State	OVC
Ryan Aguayo	New Mexico State	WAC
Caleb Bushyhead	Oklahoma	Big 12
Kenton Parmley	Southeast Missouri State	OVC
Justin Boudreaux	Southeastern Louisiana	Southland
Brodie Greene	Texas A&M	Big 12
Adam Bryant	Troy	Sun Belt
Tyler Cannon	Virginia	ACC
Sam Roberts	Virginia Military	Big South
Tim Smalling	Virginia Tech	ACC
Jedd Gyorko	West Virginia	Big East







