

May 7, 2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Andrea Watson, (806) 239-0522 or andrea@collegebaseballfoundation.org

REVISED PITCHER OF THE YEAR WATCH LIST RELEASED

LUBBOCK, Texas — The College Baseball Foundation announced today the quarterfinalists for the 2010 Pitcher of the Year Award. The list features 25 of the nation's finest Division I pitchers.

"It's been really exciting to see the numbers these pitchers have put up all year," said Justin Knowles, Pitcher of the Year committee co-chair.

The Pitcher of the Year Award will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 2 as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.

The University of Texas features three pitchers among the 25 on the revised watch list. Cole Green is 9-0 with a 1.80 ERA and 50 strikeouts in 69.1 innings pitched. Chance Ruffin has 10 saves, a 1.06 ERA and 60 strikeouts in 25 appearances. Brandon Workman is 8-1 in 10 starts. He also has 65 strikeouts to go with his 1.61 ERA and only 12 walks.

UCLA and Coastal Carolina each have two pitchers on the watch list.

"For some of these schools to have multiple pitchers on the list is really impressive," Knowles said. "As the regular season wraps up, it will be interesting to see how these pitchers continue to add to their statistics."

There are 11 different conferences represented on the newest watch list, with the Big 12 and the Pac-10 each having four representatives.

Chris Patterson of Appalachian State has the lowest ERA (0.58) on the list. Asher Wojciechowski of The Citadel has 98 strikeouts, leading the watch list in that category.

The College Baseball Awards Show will take place on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR AWARD WATCH LIST

Player	Team	Conference
Chris Patterson	Appalachian State	Southern
Kurt Heyer	Arizona	Pac-10
Seth Blair	Arizona State	Pac-10
Drew Smyly	Arkansas	SEC
Noe Ramirez	Cal State Fullerton	Big West
Asher Wojciechowski	Citadel	Southern
Anthony Meo	Coastal Carolina	Big South
Cody Wheeler	Coastal Carolina	Big South
Matt Barnes	Connecticut	Big East
Chris Sale	Florida Gulf Coast	Atlantic Sun
Matty Ott	Louisiana State	SEC
Thomas Royse	Louisville	Big East
Drew Pomeranz	Mississippi	SEC
Matt Harvey	North Carolina	ACC
Alex Wimmers	Ohio State	Big Ten
Addison Reed	San Diego State	Mountain West
Blake Cooper	South Carolina	SEC
Cole Green	Texas	Big 12
Chance Ruffin	Texas	Big 12
Brandon Workman	Texas	Big 12
John Stilson	Texas A&M	Big 12
Daniel Bibona	UC Irvine	Big West
Trevor Bauer	UCLA	Pac-10
Gerrit Cole	UCLA	Pac-10
Danny Hultzen	Virginia	ACC





